Skip to main content
Ranked

Best Employer of Record providers 2026

There is no single best Employer of Record; the right provider depends on your hire's country, salary and how audit-sensitive the role is. RemoFirst has the lowest published platform fee we track ($199 per employee per month). Total monthly cost, including statutory contributions, depends on country and salary; the comparison below recalculates it. Remote employs only through its own entities, which may matter to buyers with particular compliance requirements. The live ranking below re-sorts itself for your actual country and salary, and every price shown is dated and sourced.

Key figures at a glance

ProviderMonthly feeCurrency conversionDepositTermEntity modelPublishes
RemoFirstRemoFirst$199/employeenot publishedUses a mid-market reference rate; markup not disclosed1× monthly costQuantity is an EOR Lens assumption; requirement not publicly disclosedmonth-to-monthPartner network5/8 facts
MultiplierMultiplierfrom $459/employeenot publishedUses a proprietary or forward FX rate; exact markup not disclosed1× monthly costQuantity is an EOR Lens assumption; requirement not publicly disclosedmonth-to-monthEOR Lens assumption, not publishedMixed (owned + partners)1/8 facts
Rippling EORRippling EOR$500/employeeEOR Lens assumption, not publishednot publishedFX terms not publicly disclosed1× monthly costQuantity is an EOR Lens assumption; requirement not publicly disclosedmonth-to-monthEOR Lens assumption, not publishedPartner network0/8 facts
OysterOyster$699/employeenot publishedFX rate-fixing rule published; exact markup not disclosed1× monthly costDeposit published; duration is an EOR Lens assumptionmonth-to-monthEOR Lens assumption, not publishedPartner network4/8 facts
DeelDeelfrom $599/employeenot publishedUses a proprietary or forward FX rate; exact markup not disclosed1× monthly costQuantity is an EOR Lens assumption; requirement not publicly disclosedmonth-to-monthEOR Lens assumption, not publishedMixed (owned + partners)1/8 facts
RemoteRemote$699/employeenot publishedUses a proprietary or forward FX rate; exact markup not disclosedNone (standard)month-to-monthEOR Lens assumption, not published100% owned entities3/8 facts
PeblPebl$399/employeenot publishedFX terms not publicly disclosed1× monthly costQuantity is an EOR Lens assumption; requirement not publicly disclosed12-monthEOR Lens assumption, not publishedMixed (owned + partners)3/8 facts
Papaya GlobalPapaya Globalfrom $499/employeenot publishedUses a mid-market reference rate; markup not disclosed1× monthly costQuantity is an EOR Lens assumption; requirement not publicly disclosed12-monthEOR Lens assumption, not publishedMixed (owned + partners)1/8 facts
ShorShorfrom $299/employeenot publishedPublishes an FX markup of 2.00%1× monthly costQuantity is an EOR Lens assumption; requirement not publicly disclosedmonth-to-monthMixed (owned + partners)5/8 facts
PlayrollPlayrollfrom $399/employeenot publishedUses a proprietary or forward FX rate; exact markup not disclosed1× monthly costmonth-to-monthMixed (owned + partners)6/8 facts

Prices verified 4 September 2026 against each provider's own site. Where a provider publishes nothing, the figure is labelled as an EOR Lens assumption or "not published". "Publishes" counts how many of the 8 pricing facts we audit the provider states on its own site.

Pricing transparency: what each provider publishes

We check the same 8 pricing facts on every provider. A tick means the provider publishes it on its own site; a dash means it is not publicly disclosed, which is not the same as unfavourable. Full quotes, links and check dates are on each provider review.

Published factRemoFirstRemoFirstMultiplierMultiplierRippling EORRippling EOROysterOysterDeelDeelRemoteRemotePeblPeblPapaya GlobalPapaya GlobalShorShorPlayrollPlayroll
Per-employee EOR price$199/employee/month$459/employee/month on annual billing ($499 monthly)Not disclosed$699/employee/monthFrom $599/employee/month$699/employee/month$399/employee/monthFrom $499/employee/month$299/employee/month in Standard Markets, $449 in Premium MarketsFrom $399/employee/month (starting price)
FX markupNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed2% above the interbank rateNot disclosed
Security deposit / pre-fundingNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedRefundable deposit required; number of months not publishedNot disclosedNo standard deposit; reserve payments only in rare high-risk casesNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedRefundable deposit equal to 1 month of salary
Setup feeNoneNot disclosedNot disclosedNoneNot disclosedNoneNoneNot disclosedNoneNone
Offboarding feeNoneNot disclosedNot disclosedNoneNot disclosedNot disclosedNoneNot disclosedNot disclosedNone
Minimum headcountNoneNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNoneNone
Minimum contract termNone (month-to-month)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNone (month-to-month billing, 30-day cancellation)None
Support response commitmentNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Transparency score5/81/80/84/81/83/83/81/85/86/8
Full evidence trailRemoFirst review →Multiplier review →Rippling EOR review →Oyster review →Deel review →Remote review →Pebl review →Papaya Global review →Shor review →Playroll review →

Disclosures re-checked against each provider's own pricing pages on 4 September 2026.

Back to page contents
Verified cost comparison, live
Hire country

Providers are ranked live by our scoring model: entity ownership in audit-sensitive countries, regional specialisation, contract terms and fee level, with total monthly cost as the tiebreaker. Change the country or salary and the ranking recomputes. Full detail on the methodology page. Methodology.

  1. 1RemoFirst
    RemoFirst
    $199/mo fee · deposit $7,781 (quantity: EOR Lens assumption; requirement not publicly disclosed)
    $7,930/mo verified
    top ranked
    View fees & terms for RemoFirst
    Provider fee
    $199/employee/month in United Kingdom (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
    Setup fee
    No setup fee (Verified published value)None
    Offboarding fee
    No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
    Minimum headcount
    None (Verified published value)
    Minimum term
    None (month-to-month) (Verified published value)
    Cancellation
    Could not verify (Could not verify)
    Deposit
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Currency conversion
    Uses a mid-market reference rate; markup not disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)Uses a mid-market reference rate; markup not disclosed. Rate fixed when the invoice is issued. Applies to payroll funding and invoice line items. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

    Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

  2. 2Shor
    Shor
    from $449/mo fee · deposit $8,031 (quantity: EOR Lens assumption; requirement not publicly disclosed)
    $8,180/mo verified
    View fees & terms for Shor
    Provider fee
    $449/employee/month in United Kingdom (Verified published value)Published country tier for this country.
    Setup fee
    No setup fee (Verified published value)None
    Offboarding fee
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Minimum headcount
    None (Verified published value)
    Minimum term
    None (month-to-month billing, 30-day cancellation) (Verified published value)
    Cancellation
    30 days (Verified published value)
    Deposit
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Currency conversion
    2.00% (published) (Verified published value)Publishes an FX markup of 2.00%. Rate fixed when the invoice is issued. Applies to payroll funding and invoice line items. This figure is shown for transparency and is not added to any total or ranking.

    Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

  3. 3Pebl
    Pebl
    $399/mo fee · deposit $7,981 (quantity: EOR Lens assumption; requirement not publicly disclosed)
    $8,130/mo verified
    View fees & terms for Pebl
    Provider fee
    $399/employee/month in United Kingdom (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
    Setup fee
    No setup fee (Verified published value)None
    Offboarding fee
    No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
    Minimum headcount
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Minimum term
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Cancellation
    Could not verify (Could not verify)
    Deposit
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Currency conversion
    FX terms not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)FX terms not publicly disclosed. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

    Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

  4. 4Oyster
    Oyster
    $699/mo fee · deposit $8,281 (duration: EOR Lens assumption)
    $8,430/mo verified
    View fees & terms for Oyster
    Provider fee
    $699/employee/month in United Kingdom (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
    Setup fee
    No setup fee (Verified published value)None
    Offboarding fee
    No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
    Minimum headcount
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Minimum term
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Cancellation
    30 days (Verified published value)
    Deposit
    Refundable deposit required; number of months not published (Verified published value)
    Currency conversion
    FX rate-fixing rule published; exact markup not disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)FX rate-fixing rule published; exact markup not disclosed. Rate fixed at the close of the previous month. Conversion is trued up at reconciliation after payroll runs. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

    Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

  5. 5Remote
    Remote
    $699/mo fee · deposit $0
    $8,430/mo verified
    View fees & terms for Remote
    Provider fee
    $699/employee/month in United Kingdom (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
    Setup fee
    No setup fee (Verified published value)None
    Offboarding fee
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Minimum headcount
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Minimum term
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Cancellation
    Could not verify (Could not verify)
    Deposit
    No deposit (Verified published value)No standard deposit; reserve payments only in rare high-risk cases
    Currency conversion
    Uses a proprietary or forward FX rate; exact markup not disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)Uses a proprietary or forward FX rate; exact markup not disclosed. Rate fixed when payroll is processed. Applies to payroll funding and invoice line items. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

    Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

Verified monthly comparison = salary + United Kingdom statutory employer contributions + published platform fee + amortised one-time fees, billed in USD. Totals cover verified provider charges only. Some providers publish an FX method, timing rule or markup, while others do not. Provider-specific currency-conversion cost is excluded rather than guessed and is not assumed to be zero; published terms remain stated on each provider's profile. Your invoice may differ where conversion is required. Comparison totals exclude customer-specific transaction taxes such as VAT, GST or withholding. Ranking basis: Balanced market: no regional, audit-sensitive or salary-band preference applies, so Top Match is based on the remaining recommendation factors, including platform fee, contract terms and offboarding cost. Lower platform fee is used as the tie-break where scores are equal.

Not ranked in United Kingdom: Rippling EOR, Papaya Global. Coverage not sufficiently verified for ranking. This is not a statement that the service is unavailable.

Open the full calculator with 10 providers and every fee detail →
Back to page contents

Provider-by-provider verdicts

Some provider links are paid links and are marked as such. Commercial relationships do not affect rankings or calculations. Commercial disclosure

1RemoFirstRemoFirst

$199/employee/month
Best for:
Cost-sensitive teams and lower-salary roles where a flat fee dominates the total.
Not for:
Audit-sensitive hires in strictly regulated markets; it runs on partner entities.
Full RemoFirst pricing breakdown →Visit RemoFirst

EOR Lens offer: 1 month free

Paid link · EOR Lens may earn a fee if you sign up through this link.

2ShorShor

from $449/employee/month
Best for:
Teams comparing on total cost: Shor lists from $449/employee/month.
Not for:
Audit-sensitive hires where a partner-entity model is not acceptable; verify the local entity with Shor.

3PeblPebl

$399/employee/month
12-month lock-in
Best for:
Enterprise teams wanting a dedicated, high-touch service (formerly Velocity Global).
Not for:
Anyone needing transparent terms up front; deposit and minimum term are no longer published.

4OysterOyster

$699/employee/month
Best for:
Teams that value a polished product experience and straightforward published pricing.
Not for:
Pure price shoppers; at $699/employee/month it is at the top of the fee range we track.

5RemoteRemote

$699/employee/month
Best for:
Compliance-first hiring in regulated industries, with 100% owned entities, no standard deposit.
Not for:
Hires in countries outside Remote's owned-entity list.
Full Remote pricing breakdown →Visit Remote

Paid link · EOR Lens may earn a fee if you sign up through this link.

FAQ

It depends on the hire. RemoFirst has the lowest published platform fee we track ($199 per employee per month), but the lowest fee does not establish the lowest total monthly cost: statutory contributions depend on country and salary. Remote employs only through its own entities, which may matter to buyers with particular compliance requirements. The ranking above recomputes for your specific country and salary, which is the only honest way to answer the question.

Platform fees across the providers we track run $199–$699/employee/month, on top of the employee's salary and the statutory employer contributions in their country, which typically add 10–30% of salary depending on the market. The total monthly figure, not the sticker fee, is what you should compare.

Rarely. A low sticker fee can be offset by unfavourable currency conversion, a large refundable deposit, setup or offboarding fees, or a partner-entity model you wouldn't accept in an audit-sensitive country. Compare total monthly cost and entity model together.

Owned entities give a cleaner compliance chain and faster issue resolution, which matters in countries with strict misclassification enforcement (Germany, Spain, France, Brazil). Partner networks enable wider country coverage at lower cost. For most hires either works; for regulated industries, prefer owned entities.

Provider prices are re-verified against each provider's own site (most recently 4 September 2026) and statutory employer-cost data is reviewed against government sources (last review 28 August 2026). Each figure on this page carries its own verification date, and anything a provider doesn't publish is labelled as a modelled estimate.

Back to page contents

Prices re-verified 4 September 2026 against each provider's own website; statutory employer-cost data last reviewed 28 August 2026 against government sources. Platform fees across the providers we track run $199–$699/employee/month. Figures a provider does not publish are labelled as estimates. Affiliate disclosure · Methodology