Skip to main content
Provider review

RemoteRemote EOR review 2026

An independent, calculation-driven look at Remote: what it publishes, what it doesn't, where it operates, what a hire actually costs, and how it ranks against the rest of the market.

Independent review · Commercial relationships and reader offers do not affect EOR Lens rankings or calculations. Commercial disclosure

Remote

Remote at a glance

EOR pricing
$699/employee/month
Contractor pricing
$29/contractor/month · Contractor Management Plus $99 · Contractor of Record $325
Managed payroll
Not publicly disclosed
Currency conversion
Uses a proprietary or forward FX rate; exact markup not disclosed. Rate fixed when payroll is processed. Applies to payroll funding and invoice line items. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.
Security deposit
No standard deposit; reserve payments only in rare high-risk cases
Setup fee
None
Contract term
Not publicly disclosedEOR Lens modelling assumption: month-to-month
Cancellation notice
Not publicly disclosed
Immigration support
Not publicly disclosed
EOR country coverage
92 published markets
Entity model
100% owned entities

Best suited to: Audit-sensitive hires where an owned entity in the country matters.

Values shown without a label are quoted from the provider's own published pages. "Not publicly disclosed" means we could not find a provider-published figure in the sources reviewed, and any figure labelled an EOR Lens modelling assumption is our own comparison figure rather than a provider fact. Confirm both in your quote. Last verified 2026-09-04.

Visit Remote

Paid link · EOR Lens may earn a fee if you sign up through this link.

Billing & transaction tax

How this provider states it invoices and allocates tax on its own fees. Transaction tax is a customer-side matter. It depends on where your business is established and on your tax status, and no amount is added to the costs shown.

Invoicing entity
Varies by customer location (Remote Technology Services, Inc., Remote Europe Holding B.V.)
Invoice currency
Not publicly verified
Tax treatment of fees
Fees are exclusive of tax, where tax is defined to include sales tax, value-added taxes, withholding tax and similar assessments, and indirect taxes are the customer's responsibility.
Withholding gross-up
Verified clause, limited to withholding tax: the customer reimburses the provider. No amount is calculated.

Source: provider-published · Remote Terms of Service · verified 2026-09-06

Live cost checker

What a hire costs through Remote

Remote total / month
$8,430
Rank on cost
#4 of 5
Gap vs lowest-cost alternative (inputs still required)
+$500/mo

Using the currently modelled provider-cost basis, the lowest-cost alternative is RemoFirst at $7,930/month, $500/month less than Remote ($6,000/year difference).

Uses the same calculation engine as the main calculator: converted base salary, United Kingdom statutory employer costs, the provider fee, and amortised one-time fees. Provider-specific currency-conversion cost is excluded rather than estimated, and stated separately in this provider’s fees and terms; conditional charges are excluded too.

Where Remote operates

Remote publishes hiring coverage in 92 countries across 4 regions. Countries not listed here are not published as supported; confirm directly with the provider.

Source: Remote's own country pages (checked 2026-09-05).

Linked countries have a full employer cost breakdown on EOR Lens; the rest are published by the provider but not yet modelled here.

Remote contractor pricing

Engaging someone as a contractor rather than employing them through an EOR is a different product with different pricing and different risk. This is what Remote publishes for contractors.

Contractor Management
$29 per contractor per month
Contractor Management Plus
$99 per contractor per month
Contractor of Record
$325 per contractor per month

Source: Contractor Management $29 per contractor/month remote.com, checked 2026-09-05.

Contractor fees exclude currency conversion and payment costs, which are charged separately by most providers. Misclassifying an employee as a contractor carries back-tax and penalty risk that dwarfs the monthly fee. Compare every published contractor price on the contractor pricing page.

Check pricing on Remote

Paid link · EOR Lens may earn a fee if you sign up through this link.

Remote vs alternatives

Figures without a label are published by the provider. Anything marked an EOR Lens assumption is our own comparison figure, not a provider statement. "Not publicly disclosed" means the provider does not state it publicly, which is not the same as the answer being unfavourable.

FactorRemoteOysterDeelRippling EORPapaya Global
EOR base fee$699/employee/month$699/employee/monthFrom $599/employee/monthNot publicly disclosed · EOR Lens assumption $500From $499/employee/month
Contractor fee$29$29$49Not publicly disclosed$5
EOR coverage92 published56 published115 published63 published128 published
Entity model100% owned entitiesPartner networkMixed (owned + partners)Partner networkMixed (owned + partners)
FX disclosureNot publicly disclosedNot publicly disclosedNot publicly disclosedNot publicly disclosedNot publicly disclosed
DepositNo standard deposit; reserve payments only in rare high-risk casesRefundable deposit required; number of months not published · EOR Lens assumption: 1 month of total costNot publicly disclosed · EOR Lens assumption: 1 month of total costNot publicly disclosed · EOR Lens assumption: 1 month of total costNot publicly disclosed · EOR Lens assumption: 1 month of total cost
Setup feeNoneNoneNot publicly disclosedNot publicly disclosedNot publicly disclosed
Contract termmonth-to-month (EOR Lens assumption)month-to-month (EOR Lens assumption)month-to-month (EOR Lens assumption)month-to-month (EOR Lens assumption)12-month (EOR Lens assumption)
Immigration supportNot publicly disclosedNot publicly disclosedNot publicly disclosedNot publicly disclosedNot publicly disclosed
Best suited toAudit-sensitive hires where an owned entity in the country matters.Teams that want a published price and a polished onboarding experience.Broadest country coverage, especially LATAM, where owned entities matter.Teams already running Rippling HRIS that want EOR inside the same system.Enterprises combining global payroll and EOR with heavy reporting needs.

Provider pricing is shown exactly as each provider publishes it, including starting-at prices, ranges and quote-only pricing. Published pricing may change or be negotiated.

Remote strengths and limitations

Where Remote is strong

  • 100% owned entities
  • Strong compliance posture
  • Best for audit-sensitive markets

Where Remote is weaker

  • Smaller country list than Deel

Pricing transparency: what Remote publishes

Remote publishes 3 of 8 facts we check on every provider. Each published fact below carries a quote, a source link and the date we checked it.

Per-employee EOR price

$699/employee/month
“Employer of Record $699 per employee per month”

Source · checked 2026-09-04

FX markup

Not publicly disclosed; confirm with provider

No FX margin published. EOR Lens no longer models a currency-conversion percentage, so conversion cost is excluded from the totals shown.

Security deposit / pre-funding

No standard deposit; reserve payments only in rare high-risk cases
“No deposits required in most cases”

Source · checked 2026-09-04

Setup fee

None
“No setup fees”

Source · checked 2026-09-04

Offboarding fee

Not publicly disclosed; confirm with provider

Not published either way. Management fees run to the termination date and are not pro-rated, which is a billing rule rather than an exit fee, and a separate one-time charge applies only when an employee is transferred between Remote entities in another country. A distinct "involuntary offboarding service" is referenced without published fee terms, so the ordinary case stays unresolved rather than zero.

Minimum headcount

Not publicly disclosed; confirm with provider

Minimum contract term

Not publicly disclosed; confirm with provider

Not published. The pricing page states no minimum number of employees or contractors, which is a headcount minimum and not a contract duration. No customer-facing minimum term or service-cancellation notice period was located in the public terms.

Support response commitment

Not publicly disclosed; confirm with provider
Back to page contents

FAQ

Remote publishes $699/employee/month. The verified monthly cost also includes the employee's gross salary, statutory employer costs in the hire country and any amortised one-time fees. Currency-conversion cost is excluded, since it is not comparably published across the providers we track. Use the cost checker on this page for a specific country and salary.

Remote publishes EOR coverage in 92 markets, listed in full on this page. Countries outside that list are not published as supported.

Not on headline price alone. Deel ($599), Papaya Global ($499) publish lower per-employee fees. Ranking on total cost depends on the hire country and salary, which the cost checker above calculates.

Remote does not publish a currency conversion margin. Our comparison therefore excludes any currency-conversion cost rather than assuming one, so the totals we show are verified costs before FX. This is not published by the provider, so confirm it in writing before you sign.

Remote publishes its deposit position: No standard deposit; reserve payments only in rare high-risk cases

Remote states it hires through its own entities. Ask for the specific entity in your hire country.

Remote does not publish an immigration or visa support offering. This is not published by the provider, so confirm it in writing before you sign.

Yes. Remote lists contractor management at $29/contractor/month.

Oyster, Deel, Rippling EOR, Papaya Global are the closest alternatives on published pricing and coverage. Which one is cheapest depends entirely on the hire country, so run the same salary through the calculator to see.

Sources

Back to page contents

Evaluating Remote?

$699/employee/month on remote.com/pricing (verified 4 Sep 2026), with no platform, onboarding or setup fees and no standard deposit; Remote says reserve payments apply only in rare high-risk cases.

Deploy with Remote

Paid link · EOR Lens may earn a fee if you sign up through this link.

Comparisons featuring Remote

Pages that put this provider directly against another, or rank it inside a shortlist.

Other providers we review

Alphabetical. Placement is never sold or influenced by commercial terms.

Employer costs where Remote's coverage is verified

Countries where we individually checked this provider's coverage evidence.