Global EOR & Hiring Cost Calculator
Calculate the true employer cost of international hiring and compare EOR platform fees instantly.
Hiring inputs
We'll bill your final monthly total in USD ($).
Popular destinations for United States employers: Mexico, Colombia, Philippines.
Enter the annualised base salary in USD ($), not the employee's local currency, and before statutory additional payments. EOR Lens adds mandatory additional pay separately where applicable.
Amount in USDStatutory calculation based on the inputs shown. Your final employment or EOR cost may differ because of benefits, provider fees, FX, employer-specific charges and other circumstances. How to read these figures.
Includes: base salary, statutory employer taxes & social contributions, mandatory 13th/14th-month pay where applicable. Excludes: bonuses, equity, private health top-ups, pension uplifts, severance accrual, and one-off compliance fees. Verify against a binding provider quote before signing a contract.
Platform fee is under 5% of employment cost, differences between providers are noise. Pick on entity ownership, audit posture, and country-specific expertise instead.
Compare EOR platforms
Hiring in Romania · billed to United States in USD.
Top match for Romania
RemoFirst
EOR Lens offer · 1 month free
Platform fee, contract terms and offboarding cost were the active differentiators.
Paid link · EOR Lens may earn a fee if you sign up through this link.
Save or share this result
Next step
Not ranked in Romania: Rippling EOR, Papaya Global, Shor. Coverage not sufficiently verified for ranking. We only rank a provider where its own published sources, documentation or a direct confirmation establish that it offers an Employer of Record service in that country. This is not a statement that the service is unavailable.
View fees & terms for RemoFirst
- Provider fee
- $199/employee/month in Romania (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
- Setup fee
- No setup fee (Verified published value)None
- Offboarding fee
- No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
- Minimum headcount
- None (Verified published value)
- Minimum term
- None (month-to-month) (Verified published value)
- Cancellation
- Could not verify (Could not verify)
- Deposit
- Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
- Currency conversion
- Uses a mid-market reference rate; markup not disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)Uses a mid-market reference rate; markup not disclosed. Rate fixed when the invoice is issued. Applies to payroll funding and invoice line items. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.
Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.
Paid link · EOR Lens may earn a fee if you sign up through this link.
EOR Lens offer: 1 month free
$199/employee/month, and RemoFirst states no setup, onboarding or termination fees, no annual contract and no minimums (remofirst.com/price, verified 4 Sep 2026). It publishes no security-deposit requirement; the one month modelled here is our assumption, so confirm it in your quote.· verified 2026-09-04
View fees & terms for Pebl
- Provider fee
- $399/employee/month in Romania (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
- Setup fee
- No setup fee (Verified published value)None
- Offboarding fee
- No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
- Minimum headcount
- Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
- Minimum term
- Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
- Cancellation
- Could not verify (Could not verify)
- Deposit
- Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
- Currency conversion
- FX terms not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)FX terms not publicly disclosed. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.
Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.
$399/employee/month published on hellopebl.com/eor-pricing (verified 4 Sep 2026). Pebl's own FAQ states it charges no setup or offboarding fees, so the old Velocity Global $750 offboarding fee has been removed. Pebl no longer publishes deposit or minimum-term details. The former 1.5-month deposit came from pre-rebrand Velocity Global material and has been withdrawn, so deposit terms are shown as not published and must be confirmed in your quote.· verified 2026-09-04
View fees & terms for Oyster
- Provider fee
- $699/employee/month in Romania (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
- Setup fee
- No setup fee (Verified published value)None
- Offboarding fee
- No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
- Minimum headcount
- Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
- Minimum term
- Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
- Cancellation
- 30 days (Verified published value)
- Deposit
- Refundable deposit required; number of months not published (Verified published value)
- Currency conversion
- FX rate-fixing rule published; exact markup not disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)FX rate-fixing rule published; exact markup not disclosed. Rate fixed at the close of the previous month. Conversion is trued up at reconciliation after payroll runs. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.
Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.
$699/employee/month confirmed on oysterhr.com/pricing (4 Sep 2026). Oyster charges no setup, onboarding or offboarding fees, but does require a refundable deposit to start an engagement; it does not publish how many months, so one month is modelled here.· verified 2026-09-04
View fees & terms for Remote
- Provider fee
- $699/employee/month in Romania (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
- Setup fee
- No setup fee (Verified published value)None
- Offboarding fee
- Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
- Minimum headcount
- Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
- Minimum term
- Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
- Cancellation
- Could not verify (Could not verify)
- Deposit
- No deposit (Verified published value)No standard deposit; reserve payments only in rare high-risk cases
- Currency conversion
- Uses a proprietary or forward FX rate; exact markup not disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)Uses a proprietary or forward FX rate; exact markup not disclosed. Rate fixed when payroll is processed. Applies to payroll funding and invoice line items. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.
Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.
Paid link · EOR Lens may earn a fee if you sign up through this link.
$699/employee/month on remote.com/pricing (verified 4 Sep 2026), with no platform, onboarding or setup fees and no standard deposit; Remote says reserve payments apply only in rare high-risk cases.· verified 2026-09-04
Totals cover verified provider charges only. Currency-conversion cost is excluded rather than guessed: almost no EOR provider publishes an exchange-rate markup, and where one does we state it on that provider's own profile instead of folding it into a total. Your invoice may differ where conversion is required.
Comparison totals exclude customer-specific transaction taxes such as VAT, GST or withholding.
Mid-market FX from bundled fallback (2026-08-28) · currency-conversion cost is not estimated here, so none is applied to the platform fee; where a provider publishes FX terms they appear in that provider’s fees and terms. Bundled fallback rates
Transaction taxes & conditional costs
No universal EOR tax is added to this estimate. Customer-side VAT, GST, withholding and similar transaction taxes depend on your business location, your tax status and the provider's invoicing entity, so they are shown as treatment rather than added as an amount.
United States: No federal VAT or GST treatment depends on your tax status and the provider's invoicing entity.
Treatment depends on subnational rules or on how the specific provider's service is classified, so no country-level figure can be stated. No transaction-tax amount is included in the figures shown.
- There is no input credit. Where sales or use tax applies it is a final cost, not recoverable.
- Employment-service definitions turn on supervision and control tests (Seaton Corp. v. Testa, Ohio).
- Whether an EOR fee is a taxable employment service or a non-taxable administrative service is provider and contract specific.
- Treatment is decided below national level, so EOR Lens does not state a national figure.
Conditional costs such as immigration, visa or government filing fees and required local benefits are excluded unless specifically modelled.
Potential termination liability, such as statutory severance or notice pay, is an event-driven cost. It is never part of the annual employer cost, the provider ranking, Lowest verified cost or Top Match.
Learn how transaction tax is treated
Sources: Temporary staffing services now subject to sales tax, Washington DOR · Ruling 2018-2, Sales and Use Taxes, Personnel Services, Connecticut DRS · Seaton Corp. v. Testa, 2018-Ohio-4911, Supreme Court of Ohio · reviewed 2026-09-06
What EOR Lens does differently
Most employer-of-record sites publish a price list. EOR Lens rebuilds the whole employer cost from the statutory rules themselves, so you can see where every figure comes from before you talk to a single salesperson.
- 39 countries, plus US statesEmployer contributions modelled component by component, not a single blended rate.
- 10 providers comparedOnly published, verifiable fees. Where a provider does not publish a price, we say so.
- Every source citedEach rate links to the authority that publishes it, with the date it was verified.
No paid placement and no sponsored rankings: providers cannot buy a position here.
Also worth evaluating
Major EOR providers we don't have a partnership with, listed here for a fuller picture. No commission, no CTA, just names you should know.
Hidden costs to ask before signing
The calculator shows the headline fee. These 13 questions reveal the rest of the bill; ask every provider before you commit. Tap one to expand; opening another closes it.
Worked examples
Two fixed scenarios, calculated the same way the calculator above calculates yours. Each one shows what a single hire in a single location costs an employer: the base salary, the statutory employer costs added on top, which providers have verified coverage there, and what is still unknown. The inputs are fixed so the examples stay readable; the results are not, and change whenever the underlying statutory or provider data changes.
Worked calculator example: a US company hiring in Mexico
Scenario
- Company based in
- United States
- Employee location
- Mexico
- Annual base salary
- $60,000 USD
- Headcount
- 1
- Results shown in
- USD
- Status
- Comparable, provider cost incomplete
The scenario above is fixed. Every figure below is generated from the current EOR Lens dataset each time the site is built; none of it is written or maintained by hand.
Jurisdiction employer cost (a year)
$81,250
$6,771 a month, before any provider charge.
| Annual base salary | $60,000 |
|---|---|
| Mandatory additional pay | $2,500 |
| Employer contributions | $18,750 |
| Jurisdiction employer cost (a year) | $81,250 |
| Verified provider-inclusive subtotal (a year, lowest verified cost provider) | $83,638 |
| Verified provider availability | 5 |
| Lowest verified cost | RemoFirst |
| Top Match | RemoFirst |
| Calculation context | Statutory rules at 2026-01-01; exchange-rate snapshot 2026-08-28 |
Providers with verified coverage here: RemoFirst, Shor, Pebl, Oyster, Remote.
The statutory side is comparable. The provider-inclusive figure includes every quantified published cost EOR Lens uses, but it is not a complete provider invoice because at least one provider-specific charge is not publicly quantified.
- For a US company employing one person in Mexico on a $60,000 annual base salary, EOR Lens calculates a known employer cost of $81,250 a year using its current statutory and provider data.
- That works out at $6,771 a month for a US company employing one person in Mexico on a $60,000 annual base salary, before any provider charge.
- 5 providers have verified coverage for Mexico in the current EOR Lens dataset. That is a count of verified coverage, not a judgement about provider quality.
- Adding the published charges of RemoFirst, the provider with the lowest verified cost for Mexico in this scenario, brings the figure to $83,638 a year. "Lowest verified cost" means the lowest total EOR Lens can evidence from published pricing, not the lowest possible quote.
- Top Match for Mexico in this scenario is RemoFirst. Top Match weighs published fit for the scenario rather than price alone, and it is never sold.
- Every employer cost EOR Lens holds for Mexico in this scenario is quantified from published evidence; an unquantified cost is always named and excluded rather than counted as zero.
- This Mexico figure for a US company employing one person in Mexico on a $60,000 annual base salary was calculated against statutory rules in force at 2026-01-01, using the exchange-rate snapshot recorded on 2026-08-28, and is stated in USD.
- Status of this example in the EOR Lens dataset: comparable, provider cost incomplete. This example shows a cross-border hire: the company is in one country, the employee is employed under the law of another, and the employer cost is built from that employee location's statutory rules, then shown in the company's own currency.
Worked calculator example: a UK company hiring in New Jersey
Scenario
- Company based in
- United Kingdom
- Employee location
- New Jersey, United States
- Annual base salary
- $100,000 USD
- Headcount
- 1
- Results shown in
- USD
- Status
- Partial: some statutory cost is not quantifiable
The scenario above is fixed. Every figure below is generated from the current EOR Lens dataset each time the site is built; none of it is written or maintained by hand.
Known jurisdiction cost subtotal (a year)
$108,894
$9,074 a month, before any provider charge.
| Annual base salary | $100,000 |
|---|---|
| Employer contributions | $8,894 |
| Known jurisdiction cost subtotal (a year) | $108,894 |
| Known provider-inclusive subtotal (a year, lowest verified cost provider) | $111,282 |
| Verified provider availability | 4 |
| Lowest verified cost | RemoFirst |
| Top Match | RemoFirst |
| Calculation context | Statutory rules at 2026-01-01; exchange-rate snapshot 2026-08-28 |
Providers with verified coverage here: RemoFirst, Pebl, Oyster, Remote.
One or more statutory costs cannot currently be quantified from published evidence. The known portion of employer cost is shown below as a subtotal, not as a complete employer-cost total, so this location is not ranked.
Costs that apply here but are not publicly quantified. They are named and excluded, never counted as zero:
- State paid leave: Temporary disability costs the employer 0.10% to 0.75% depending on experience, so there is no single rate. Family leave is employee-paid.: Charged by the state but not computable from published figures.
- For a UK company employing one person in New Jersey on a $100,000 annual base salary, EOR Lens calculates a known employer-cost subtotal of $108,894 a year using its current statutory and provider data.
- That works out at $9,074 a month for a UK company employing one person in New Jersey on a $100,000 annual base salary, before any provider charge.
- 4 providers have verified coverage for New Jersey in the current EOR Lens dataset. That is a count of verified coverage, not a judgement about provider quality.
- Adding the published charges of RemoFirst, the provider with the lowest verified cost for New Jersey in this scenario, brings the known subtotal to $111,282 a year. "Lowest verified cost" means the lowest total EOR Lens can evidence from published pricing, not the lowest possible quote.
- Top Match for New Jersey in this scenario is RemoFirst. Top Match weighs published fit for the scenario rather than price alone, and it is never sold.
- One cost is known to apply in New Jersey for a UK company employing one person in New Jersey on a $100,000 annual base salary but is not publicly quantified, so it is named and excluded rather than treated as zero: State paid leave: Temporary disability costs the employer 0.10% to 0.75% depending on experience, so there is no single rate. Family leave is employee-paid.
- This New Jersey figure for a UK company employing one person in New Jersey on a $100,000 annual base salary was calculated against statutory rules in force at 2026-01-01, using the exchange-rate snapshot recorded on 2026-08-28, and is stated in USD.
- Status of this example in the EOR Lens dataset: partial: some statutory cost is not quantifiable. This example shows why United States employer cost needs a state. EOR Lens applies federal rules plus that state's own employer rules rather than a generic United States average, and it never substitutes a federal-only figure for a state.
This calculator, the Hiring Planner, or the Team Cost Builder?
Use this calculator to cost one specific hire in one location, as the two examples above do. Use the Hiring Planner when the location is still an open question and you want the same hire costed across several possible locations side by side. For everything an employer owes in one country or one US state, regardless of who you hire, the country and state cost pages are the reference. Use the Team Cost Builder when you already know the team you want and need several hires in several locations added up in one currency.
Browse hiring costs by country
Already know where your hire is based? Jump straight to a country-specific breakdown.
- EOR United States
- EOR United Kingdom
- EOR Germany
- EOR France
- EOR Netherlands
- EOR Portugal
- EOR Spain
- EOR Poland
- EOR Romania
- EOR Brazil
- EOR Mexico
- EOR Colombia
- EOR Argentina
- EOR Canada
- EOR India
- EOR Philippines
- EOR South Africa
- EOR Nigeria
- EOR Vietnam
- EOR Pakistan
- EOR Ukraine
- EOR Australia
- EOR Singapore
- EOR Italy
- EOR Ireland
- EOR Belgium
- EOR Sweden
- EOR Japan
- EOR Indonesia
- EOR Thailand
- EOR Malaysia
- EOR United Arab Emirates
- EOR Switzerland
- EOR Czech Republic
- EOR Hungary
- EOR Denmark
- EOR Chile
- EOR Turkey
- EOR Egypt
Provider metadata (FX spread, deposit, entity ownership) and statutory tax brackets are sourced from public materials and official government publications. Provider pricing last re-verified 4 September 2026; statutory data and exchange rates last reviewed 28 August 2026. No EOR publishes an exchange-rate markup, so from the September 2026 review no FX markup is applied to any total or ranking: provider costs are stated before any currency-conversion cost. Confirm conversion terms in writing with the provider before signing.