Playroll EOR review 2026
An independent, calculation-driven look at Playroll: what it publishes, what it doesn't, where it operates, what a hire actually costs, and how it ranks against the rest of the market.
Independent review · Commercial relationships and reader offers do not affect EOR Lens rankings or calculations. Commercial disclosure
Playroll at a glance
- EOR pricing
- From $399/employee/month (starting price)
- Contractor pricing
- $35/contractor/month
- Managed payroll
- Not publicly disclosed
- Currency conversion
- Uses a proprietary or forward FX rate; exact markup not disclosed. Rate fixed when the invoice is issued. Applies to payroll funding and invoice line items. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.
- Security deposit
- Refundable deposit equal to 1 month of salary
- Setup fee
- None
- Contract term
- None
- Cancellation notice
- Not publicly disclosed
- Immigration support
- Not publicly disclosed
- EOR country coverage
- Not publicly disclosed
- Entity model
- Not publicly disclosed
Best suited to: Buyers who want a published entry price and no onboarding, offboarding or minimum-headcount commitments.
Values shown without a label are quoted from the provider's own published pages. "Not publicly disclosed" means we could not find a provider-published figure in the sources reviewed, and any figure labelled an EOR Lens modelling assumption is our own comparison figure rather than a provider fact. Confirm both in your quote. Last verified 2026-09-14.
What a hire costs through Playroll
Playroll has verified EOR coverage in United Kingdom, but no precise country-resolved fee. Its published headline price is informational only, so it is excluded from this cost ranking.
Uses the same calculation engine as the main calculator: converted base salary, United Kingdom statutory employer costs, the provider fee, and amortised one-time fees. Provider-specific currency-conversion cost is excluded rather than estimated, and stated separately in this provider’s fees and terms; conditional charges are excluded too.
Playroll contractor pricing
Engaging someone as a contractor rather than employing them through an EOR is a different product with different pricing and different risk. This is what Playroll publishes for contractors.
- Contractor
- $35 per contractor per month
Source: Contractor $35 Flat fee per month. $35 Per Month. No Minimum Commitments.
www.playroll.com, checked 2026-09-14.
Contractor fees exclude currency conversion and payment costs, which are charged separately by most providers. Misclassifying an employee as a contractor carries back-tax and penalty risk that dwarfs the monthly fee. Compare every published contractor price on the contractor pricing page.
Playroll vs alternatives
Figures without a label are published by the provider. Anything marked an EOR Lens assumption is our own comparison figure, not a provider statement. "Not publicly disclosed" means the provider does not state it publicly, which is not the same as the answer being unfavourable.
| Factor | |||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EOR base fee | From $399/employee/month (starting price) | $399/employee/month | $459/employee/month on annual billing ($499 monthly) | From $499/employee/month | $299/employee/month in Standard Markets, $449 in Premium Markets |
| Contractor fee | $35 | Not publicly disclosed | $40 | $5 | $19 |
| EOR coverage | Not publicly disclosed | 158 published | 120 published | 128 published | 27 published |
| Entity model | Not publicly disclosed | Mixed (owned + partners) | Mixed (owned + partners) | Mixed (owned + partners) | Not publicly disclosed |
| FX disclosure | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | 2% above the interbank rate |
| Deposit | Refundable deposit equal to 1 month of salary | Not publicly disclosed · EOR Lens assumption: 1 month of total cost | Not publicly disclosed · EOR Lens assumption: 1 month of total cost | Not publicly disclosed · EOR Lens assumption: 1 month of total cost | Not publicly disclosed · EOR Lens assumption: 1 month of total cost |
| Setup fee | None | None | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | None |
| Contract term | None | 12-month (EOR Lens assumption) | month-to-month (EOR Lens assumption) | 12-month (EOR Lens assumption) | None (month-to-month billing, 30-day cancellation) |
| Immigration support | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed; confirm with provider |
| Best suited to | Buyers who want a published entry price and no onboarding, offboarding or minimum-headcount commitments. | Enterprise buyers wanting a named support team, formerly Velocity Global. | APAC-heavy hiring, particularly India and the Philippines, where Multiplier owns entities. | Enterprises combining global payroll and EOR with heavy reporting needs. | Cost-sensitive teams hiring in Asia, Latin America, Africa or the Middle East who want a published flat EOR fee, plus contractor-heavy teams at $19 per contractor per month. |
Provider pricing is shown exactly as each provider publishes it, including starting-at prices, ranges and quote-only pricing. Published pricing may change or be negotiated.
Playroll strengths and limitations
Where Playroll is strong
- Publishes a starting EOR price of $399 per employee per month with no minimum commitment.
- States explicitly that it charges no onboarding or offboarding fees.
- Publishes a country-specific employer-of-record page for every country EOR Lens tracks.
Where Playroll is weaker
- The $399 figure is a starting price; Playroll states fees vary by territory and the full list is visible only inside its platform.
- Charges an unquantified foreign-exchange fee when billing and payment currencies differ.
- Requires a refundable deposit equal to one month of salary for each employee.
Pricing transparency: what Playroll publishes
Playroll publishes 6 of 8 facts we check on every provider. Each published fact below carries a quote, a source link and the date we checked it.
Per-employee EOR price
From $399/employee/month (starting price)“Employee Starting at $399 From $399 Per Month. No Minimum Commitments.”
Source · checked 2026-09-14
FX markup
Not publicly disclosed; confirm with providerPlayroll publishes its exchange-rate methodology and confirms it charges a foreign-exchange fee when billing and payment currencies differ, but does not publish the fee amount or percentage. No conversion cost is modelled in the totals shown.
Security deposit / pre-funding
Refundable deposit equal to 1 month of salary“we do require a fully refundable security deposit when you onboard an employee, equivalent to 1 month’s salary”
Source · checked 2026-09-14
Setup fee
None“No, Playroll does not charge employers any fees for onboarding or offboarding.”
Source · checked 2026-09-14
Offboarding fee
None“Playroll does not charge employers any fees for onboarding or offboarding”
Provider-wide. Re-verified 15 Sep 2026 in the pricing-page FAQ, which names offboarding fees explicitly. A 2022-dated help-centre article title suggests a termination fee where a contract ends inside six months; its body could not be retrieved and it predates the current pricing FAQ, so it is recorded as an open lead for the next evidence wave rather than as a competing current fact.
Source · checked 2026-09-15
Minimum headcount
None“No, there is no minimum number of employees or contractors required to use Playroll.”
Source · checked 2026-09-14
Minimum contract term
None“From $399 Per Month. No Minimum Commitments.”
Provider-wide, stated on the EOR pricing tier and re-verified 15 Sep 2026. A separate pricing-page FAQ states no minimum number of employees or contractors; that is a headcount fact and is not merged into the commitment. No cancellation notice period is published; the master service agreement is not public.
Source · checked 2026-09-15
Support response commitment
Not publicly disclosed; confirm with providerNo published support response commitment.
FAQ
Playroll publishes From $399/employee/month (starting price). The verified monthly cost also includes the employee's gross salary, statutory employer costs in the hire country and any amortised one-time fees. Currency-conversion cost is excluded, since it is not comparably published across the providers we track. Use the cost checker on this page for a specific country and salary.
Playroll does not publish a country-by-country EOR list. This is not published by the provider, so confirm it in writing before you sign.
Not on headline price alone. Shor ($299) publish lower per-employee fees. Ranking on total cost depends on the hire country and salary, which the cost checker above calculates.
Playroll does not publish a currency conversion margin. Our comparison therefore excludes any currency-conversion cost rather than assuming one, so the totals we show are verified costs before FX. This is not published by the provider, so confirm it in writing before you sign.
Playroll publishes its deposit position: Refundable deposit equal to 1 month of salary
Playroll does not publish an owned-versus-partner breakdown. This is not published by the provider, so confirm it in writing before you sign.
Playroll does not publish an immigration or visa support offering. This is not published by the provider, so confirm it in writing before you sign.
Yes. Playroll lists contractor management at $35/contractor/month.
Pebl, Multiplier, Papaya Global, Shor are the closest alternatives on published pricing and coverage. Which one is cheapest depends entirely on the hire country, so run the same salary through the calculator to see.
Sources
- Playroll employer of record pricingchecked 2026-09-14
- Playroll contractor pricingchecked 2026-09-14
- Playroll exchange rate methodology and FX feeschecked 2026-09-14
Evaluating Playroll?
$399 per employee per month is published as a starting price on Playroll’s employer-of-record pricing page (14 Sep 2026). Playroll states its fees vary by territory and publishes the full list only inside its platform, so no country-specific fee is recorded here.
Keep comparing
Comparisons featuring Playroll
Pages that put this provider directly against another, or rank it inside a shortlist.
Other providers we review
Alphabetical. Placement is never sold or influenced by commercial terms.
Employer costs where Playroll's coverage is verified
Countries where we individually checked this provider's coverage evidence.