Skip to main content
Canada · EOR cost

Employer of Record Cost in Canada

Known monthly cost of hiring through an EOR in Canada, compared across 5 platforms with verified coverage there and statutory contributions included; unpublished currency-conversion costs are excluded, not estimated. At least one employer charge is not quantified here, so this is a subtotal, not a complete cost.

Canada · TL;DR

For a C$83,148 CAD hire in Canada, the known monthly cost (excluding unpublished currency-conversion charges) ranges from C$7,586 on RemoFirst (lowest provider cost on this subtotal) to C$8,279 on the highest-cost platform. Employer-side statutory contributions add at least ~5.5% on top of cash salary, before Employment Insurance, employer premium at the reduced Québec rate and Québec Pension Plan, employer contribution and Québec parental insurance plan, employer premium and Quebec Pension Plan second additional contribution (QPP2), employer and Québec health services fund contribution, payroll above the upper threshold and Québec workforce skills development levy and Ontario employer health tax, above the exemption and British Columbia employer health tax, above the notch band and Manitoba health and post-secondary education levy, above the notch band and Newfoundland and Labrador health and post-secondary education tax, above the exemption and Workers' compensation premium (Ontario WSIB) and Workers' compensation premium (provincial or territorial board) and Work-injury insurance premium (Québec CNESST) and Provincial employer health and payroll taxes and Workers' compensation premiums, which cannot be resolved without that information.

Use the calculator below to plug in your own salary, HQ currency, and shortlist.

Canada employer cost at a glance

Employer statutory cost
At least ~5.5% of annual base salary, before the components below that cannot be quantified
Employer contributions
Canada Pension Plan (base and enhanced) · Second additional CPP contribution (CPP2) · Employment Insurance (employer premium, outside Quebec) · Provincial employer health and payroll taxes · Workers' compensation premiums
Contribution ceiling
Applies
Mandatory additional pay
No
Verified provider coverage
5 providers with verified availability
What this estimate includes
The employer costs we can calculate. Not included, because they cannot be quantified from published evidence: Provincial employer health and payroll taxes, Workers' compensation premiums.
Evidence depth
Component-level statutory evidence recorded
Statutory evidence last verified
2026-09-07

How this cost is calculated

Figures for Canada are calculated charge by charge from the published statutory rules, each with its own rate, ceiling and source shown below. Provincial employer health and payroll taxes and Workers' compensation premiums cannot be quantified from published evidence, so the figures are a known subtotal rather than a full employer cost. Last checked against source on 2026-09-07.

A final total is not yet known: this figure depends on information that has not been supplied. Answer the questions shown to get the exact statutory calculation. How to read these figures.

More information requiredA complete total for Canada depends on information that has not been supplied (the employer's total annual wage bill, employment work location), so the totals below are a subtotal. Nothing has been assumed in its place.

Cost stack · Canada · C$83,148 annual base salary
Annual base salaryC$83,148
Average monthly employment cashAnnual cash ÷ 12C$6,929
Employer CPP & EI contributions (at least ~5.5%, monthly)
Why is this a subtotal?

A complete total for Canada depends on information that has not been supplied (the employer's total annual wage bill, employment work location), so the totals below are a subtotal. Nothing has been assumed in its place. Nothing has been assumed in its place.

C$381
EOR platform fee (RemoFirst)C$276
Monthly subtotal, pending more information (lowest provider cost on this subtotal)C$7,586

Lowest provider cost for Canada, on the known subtotal

Providers are ordered on the same known statutory subtotal, so this compares provider charges only, not a complete employer cost for Canada. It excludes currency-conversion cost, which is not estimated here. Re-run the calculator at your actual band.

  1. #1RemoFirstC$7,586 / moPricing and review →
    View fees & terms for RemoFirst
    Provider fee
    $199/employee/month in Canada (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
    Setup fee
    No setup fee (Verified published value)None
    Offboarding fee
    No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
    Minimum headcount
    None (Verified published value)
    Minimum term
    None (month-to-month) (Verified published value)
    Cancellation
    Could not verify (Could not verify)
    Deposit
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Currency conversion
    Uses a mid-market reference rate; markup not disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)Uses a mid-market reference rate; markup not disclosed. Rate fixed when the invoice is issued. Applies to payroll funding and invoice line items. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

    Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

  2. #2PeblC$7,863 / moPricing and review →
    View fees & terms for Pebl
    Provider fee
    $399/employee/month in Canada (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
    Setup fee
    No setup fee (Verified published value)None
    Offboarding fee
    No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
    Minimum headcount
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Minimum term
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Cancellation
    Could not verify (Could not verify)
    Deposit
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Currency conversion
    FX terms not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)FX terms not publicly disclosed. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

    Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

  3. #3ShorC$7,932 / moPricing and review →
    View fees & terms for Shor
    Provider fee
    $449/employee/month in Canada (Verified published value)Published country tier for this country.
    Setup fee
    No setup fee (Verified published value)None
    Offboarding fee
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Minimum headcount
    None (Verified published value)
    Minimum term
    None (month-to-month billing, 30-day cancellation) (Verified published value)
    Cancellation
    30 days (Verified published value)
    Deposit
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Currency conversion
    2.00% (published) (Verified published value)Publishes an FX markup of 2.00%. Rate fixed when the invoice is issued. Applies to payroll funding and invoice line items. This figure is shown for transparency and is not added to any total or ranking.

    Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

Not ranked in Canada: Rippling EOR, Papaya Global. Coverage not sufficiently verified for ranking. This is not a statement that the service is unavailable there.

Costs to budget for beyond this estimate in Canada

  • Common-law notice vs ESA minimums, ESA is a floor, not a ceiling. A non-unionized 5-year-tenured executive may be entitled to 5–8 months of notice/pay under Bardal common-law factors, not the 5 weeks ESA specifies.
  • Quebec is its own employment-law jurisdiction. CPP doesn't apply (QPP does), EI is different (QPIP), the language of work must be French (Loi 96, 2022), and labor standards (CNESST) override federal norms.
  • CPP2 (the second-tier CPP introduced 2024) is often missed by foreign payroll providers. Adds ~$190 employer + employee combined for high earners.
  • Independent contractor classification: Canada Revenue Agency uses a multi-factor test (control, ownership of tools, chance of profit/loss, integration). Misclassification triggers back-CPP, back-EI, and CRA penalties.

Hiring inputs

We'll bill your final monthly total in USD ($).

Popular destinations for United States employers: Mexico, Colombia, Philippines.

Enter the annualised base salary in USD ($), not the employee's local currency, and before statutory additional payments. EOR Lens adds mandatory additional pay separately where applicable.

Amount in USD

Optional: a few details about Canada that change the cost

Some charges in Canada depend on facts only you know. Answer any of these and they are added to the figure. Leave them blank and they stay listed as not included.

Payroll taxes and disability-fund rates step at a wage-bill threshold, so this can change the rate rather than just the amount.

Canada charges employers province by province: Quebec runs its own pension and parental insurance plans, and four provinces levy an employer health or payroll tax the others do not.

Quebec's health services fund publishes a lower rate column for employers in agriculture, forestry, fishing, mining and manufacturing than for everyone else.

Annual base salary
$80,000USD
~C$110,864 CAD
What the employee earns before any statutory additional pay.
Employer CPP & EI contributions
$3,353USD
~C$4,646 CAD
4.2% effective on this salary
Total annual employer cost
$83,353USD
~C$115,510 CAD
Employee cash, employer contributions and statutory employer funds

A final total is not yet known: this figure depends on information that has not been supplied. Answer the questions shown to get the exact statutory calculation. How to read these figures.

Estimate, not a binding quote·2026 statutory employer rates·FX fallback 2026-08-28

Includes: base salary, statutory employer taxes & social contributions, mandatory 13th/14th-month pay where applicable. Excludes: bonuses, equity, private health top-ups, pension uplifts, severance accrual, and one-off compliance fees. Verify against a binding provider quote before signing a contract.

Estimated upfront capital
Modelled security deposit of 1 month of total cost, refundable where the provider holds one. Actual provider terms vary and some ask for none.
$7,145USD
Optimise for compliance, not platform price

Platform fee is under 5% of employment cost, differences between providers are noise. Pick on entity ownership, audit posture, and country-specific expertise instead.

Compare EOR platforms

Hiring in Canada · billed to United States in USD.

Top match for Canada

RemoFirst

EOR Lens offer · 1 month free

Platform fee, contract terms and offboarding cost were the active differentiators.

Visit RemoFirst

Paid link · EOR Lens may earn a fee if you sign up through this link.

Save or share this result

Not ranked in Canada: Rippling EOR, Papaya Global. Coverage not sufficiently verified for ranking. We only rank a provider where its own published sources, documentation or a direct confirmation establish that it offers an Employer of Record service in that country. This is not a statement that the service is unavailable.

EOR Platform
Lowest provider cost so far
RemoFirstRemoFirst
Partner network
month-to-month
FX: markup not disclosed
View fees & terms for RemoFirst
Provider fee
$199/employee/month in Canada (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
Setup fee
No setup fee (Verified published value)None
Offboarding fee
No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
Minimum headcount
None (Verified published value)
Minimum term
None (month-to-month) (Verified published value)
Cancellation
Could not verify (Could not verify)
Deposit
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Currency conversion
Uses a mid-market reference rate; markup not disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)Uses a mid-market reference rate; markup not disclosed. Rate fixed when the invoice is issued. Applies to payroll funding and invoice line items. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

Platform fee
$199 USD/mo · $199 USD
Total monthly spend
$7,145USD
Employee cost ÷ 12 + platform fee, in USD
Refundable deposit (1 mo) (EOR Lens assumption)$7,145 USD
Deploy with RemoFirst

Paid link · EOR Lens may earn a fee if you sign up through this link.

EOR Lens offer: 1 month free

$199/employee/month, and RemoFirst states no setup, onboarding or termination fees, no annual contract and no minimums (remofirst.com/price, verified 4 Sep 2026). It publishes no security-deposit requirement; the one month modelled here is our assumption, so confirm it in your quote.· verified 2026-09-04

EOR Platform
PeblPebl
Mixed entities
12-month
FX: markup not disclosed
View fees & terms for Pebl
Provider fee
$399/employee/month in Canada (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
Setup fee
No setup fee (Verified published value)None
Offboarding fee
No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
Minimum headcount
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Minimum term
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Cancellation
Could not verify (Could not verify)
Deposit
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Currency conversion
FX terms not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)FX terms not publicly disclosed. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

Platform fee
$399 USD/mo · $399 USD
Total monthly spend
$7,345USD
Employee cost ÷ 12 + platform fee, in USD
Refundable deposit (1 mo)$7,345 USD
Deploy with Pebl

$399/employee/month published on hellopebl.com/eor-pricing (verified 4 Sep 2026). Pebl's own FAQ states it charges no setup or offboarding fees, so the old Velocity Global $750 offboarding fee has been removed. Pebl no longer publishes deposit or minimum-term details. The former 1.5-month deposit came from pre-rebrand Velocity Global material and has been withdrawn, so deposit terms are shown as not published and must be confirmed in your quote.· verified 2026-09-04

EOR Platform
ShorShor
Mixed entities
month-to-month
FX: 2.00% (published)
View fees & terms for Shor
Provider fee
$449/employee/month in Canada (Verified published value)Published country tier for this country.
Setup fee
No setup fee (Verified published value)None
Offboarding fee
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Minimum headcount
None (Verified published value)
Minimum term
None (month-to-month billing, 30-day cancellation) (Verified published value)
Cancellation
30 days (Verified published value)
Deposit
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Currency conversion
2.00% (published) (Verified published value)Publishes an FX markup of 2.00%. Rate fixed when the invoice is issued. Applies to payroll funding and invoice line items. This figure is shown for transparency and is not added to any total or ranking.

Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

Platform fee
$449 USD/mo · from $449 USD
Total monthly spend
$7,395USD
Employee cost ÷ 12 + platform fee, in USD
Refundable deposit (1 mo)$7,395 USD
Visit Shor
EOR Platform
OysterOyster
Partner network
month-to-month
FX: markup not disclosed
View fees & terms for Oyster
Provider fee
$699/employee/month in Canada (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
Setup fee
No setup fee (Verified published value)None
Offboarding fee
No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
Minimum headcount
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Minimum term
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Cancellation
30 days (Verified published value)
Deposit
Refundable deposit required; number of months not published (Verified published value)
Currency conversion
FX rate-fixing rule published; exact markup not disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)FX rate-fixing rule published; exact markup not disclosed. Rate fixed at the close of the previous month. Conversion is trued up at reconciliation after payroll runs. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

Platform fee
$699 USD/mo · $699 USD
Total monthly spend
$7,645USD
Employee cost ÷ 12 + platform fee, in USD
Refundable deposit (1 mo)$7,645 USD
Deploy with Oyster

$699/employee/month confirmed on oysterhr.com/pricing (4 Sep 2026). Oyster charges no setup, onboarding or offboarding fees, but does require a refundable deposit to start an engagement; it does not publish how many months, so one month is modelled here.· verified 2026-09-04

EOR Platform
RemoteRemote
Owned entity
month-to-month
FX: markup not disclosed
View fees & terms for Remote
Provider fee
$699/employee/month in Canada (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
Setup fee
No setup fee (Verified published value)None
Offboarding fee
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Minimum headcount
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Minimum term
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Cancellation
Could not verify (Could not verify)
Deposit
No deposit (Verified published value)No standard deposit; reserve payments only in rare high-risk cases
Currency conversion
Uses a proprietary or forward FX rate; exact markup not disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)Uses a proprietary or forward FX rate; exact markup not disclosed. Rate fixed when payroll is processed. Applies to payroll funding and invoice line items. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

Platform fee
$699 USD/mo · $699 USD
Total monthly spend
$7,645USD
Employee cost ÷ 12 + platform fee, in USD
Refundable deposit (0 mo)$0 USD
Deploy with Remote

Paid link · EOR Lens may earn a fee if you sign up through this link.

$699/employee/month on remote.com/pricing (verified 4 Sep 2026), with no platform, onboarding or setup fees and no standard deposit; Remote says reserve payments apply only in rare high-risk cases.· verified 2026-09-04

Totals cover verified provider charges only. Currency-conversion cost is excluded rather than guessed: almost no EOR provider publishes an exchange-rate markup, and where one does we state it on that provider's own profile instead of folding it into a total. Your invoice may differ where conversion is required.

Comparison totals exclude customer-specific transaction taxes such as VAT, GST or withholding.

Mid-market FX from bundled fallback (2026-08-28) · currency-conversion cost is not estimated here, so none is applied to the platform fee; where a provider publishes FX terms they appear in that provider’s fees and terms. Bundled fallback rates

Transaction taxes & conditional costs

No universal EOR tax is added to this estimate. Customer-side VAT, GST, withholding and similar transaction taxes depend on your business location, your tax status and the provider's invoicing entity, so they are shown as treatment rather than added as an amount.

United States: No federal VAT or GST treatment depends on your tax status and the provider's invoicing entity.

Treatment depends on subnational rules or on how the specific provider's service is classified, so no country-level figure can be stated. No transaction-tax amount is included in the figures shown.

  • There is no input credit. Where sales or use tax applies it is a final cost, not recoverable.
  • Employment-service definitions turn on supervision and control tests (Seaton Corp. v. Testa, Ohio).
  • Whether an EOR fee is a taxable employment service or a non-taxable administrative service is provider and contract specific.
  • Treatment is decided below national level, so EOR Lens does not state a national figure.

Conditional costs such as immigration, visa or government filing fees and required local benefits are excluded unless specifically modelled.

Potential termination liability, such as statutory severance or notice pay, is an event-driven cost. It is never part of the annual employer cost, the provider ranking, Lowest verified cost or Top Match.

Learn how transaction tax is treated

Sources: Temporary staffing services now subject to sales tax, Washington DOR · Ruling 2018-2, Sales and Use Taxes, Personnel Services, Connecticut DRS · Seaton Corp. v. Testa, 2018-Ohio-4911, Supreme Court of Ohio · reviewed 2026-09-06

What makes up the 5.5% employer add-on in Canada

Each employer-side contribution behind the rate used in the calculator above. Last reviewed 2026-06-22.

ContributionEmployer rateNotes
Canada Pension Plan (CPP), Tier 15.95%On earnings between $3,500 and $74,600 (YMPE 2026)
CPP2 (second tier, introduced 2024)4.0%On earnings between $74,600 and $85,000 (YAMPE 2026)
Employment Insurance (EI), employer2.32%1.4× employee rate (1.66%), capped at $63,200 earnings (2024)
Provincial WCB/WSIB0.5–3.0%Office workers in Ontario ~0.5%, construction much higher
EHT (Ontario Employer Health Tax)0.98–1.95%Only on Ontario payroll >$1M annually; below threshold = 0%
Quebec QPP / QPIP / FSS (Quebec only)+3–5%Quebec replaces CPP with QPP (6.4%); adds QPIP (0.692%) + FSS health services (1.65–4.26%)

Exit cost to budget for: Employment Standards Act minimums: 1 week after 3 months, scaling to 8 weeks after 8+ years. Common law notice (for non-union employees) is much higher: Bardal factors typically yield 1 month per year of service for executives. Ontario: in addition to ESA notice, employers with $2.5M+ payroll owe 1 week per year of service (capped at 26 weeks) as severance pay under ESA s.64. Common-law claims by terminated executives often exceed ESA minimums substantially.

Employer statutory components in Canada

Each charge behind the figures above, computed on an annual base salary of C$83,148 CAD at 2026-09-07, with the rate, base, ceiling and authority that produce it.

Employer statutory components, amounts, calculation rules and sources for Canada
ComponentAnnual amountHow it is calculatedStateSource
Canada Pension Plan, employer contributionC$4,230
  • Computed by the formula set out in the cited authority

In force from 2026-01-01.

Calculated on a stated assumption
  • Canada Revenue AgencyCPP contribution rates, maximums and exemptions · Canada Pension Plan Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. C-8, ss. 8-11.1Effective 2026-01-01 · checked 2026-09-07
Canada Pension Plan second additional contribution (CPP2), employerC$342
  • Computed by the formula set out in the cited authority

In force from 2026-01-01.

Calculated on a stated assumption
  • Canada Revenue AgencyCPP contribution rates, maximums and exemptions · Canada Pension Plan Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. C-8, ss. 8-11.1Effective 2026-01-01 · checked 2026-09-07
Employment Insurance, employer premium at the reduced Québec rateNot costed
  • Employer rate 1.82%
  • Capped at CAD 68,900 per year

employment.work_location is required and material for ca.rule.ei-employer-qc, and no approved assumption covers it.

Resolved once you tell the calculator: employment.work_location.

In force from 2026-01-01.

Needs one more fact
Québec Pension Plan, employer contributionRégime de rentes du QuébecNot costed
  • Computed by the formula set out in the cited authority

employment.work_location is required and material for ca.rule.qpp-employer, and no approved assumption covers it.

Resolved once you tell the calculator: employment.work_location.

In force from 2026-01-01.

Needs one more fact
  • Revenu QuébecQuébec Pension Plan contributions, rates and maximums · Act respecting the Québec Pension Plan, CQLR c. R-9Effective 2026-01-01 · checked 2026-09-07
Québec parental insurance plan, employer premiumRégime québécois d'assurance parentale (RQAP)Not costed
  • Employer rate 0.602%
  • Capped at CAD 103,000 per year

employment.work_location is required and material for ca.rule.qpip-employer, and no approved assumption covers it.

Resolved once you tell the calculator: employment.work_location.

In force from 2026-01-01.

Needs one more fact
  • Conseil de gestion de l'assurance parentaleRevenu maximal assurable et taux de cotisation pour 2026 · Loi sur l'assurance parentale, RLRQ c. A-29.011 · Actualités, annonce des paramètres 2026Effective 2026-01-01 · checked 2026-09-07
  • Revenu Québec / Conseil de gestion de l'assurance parentaleQuébec parental insurance plan (QPIP) premiums · Act respecting parental insurance, CQLR c. A-29.011Effective 2026-01-01 · checked 2026-09-07
  • Groupe RDLTaux des déductions à la source pour les employés et les employeurs au Québec, 2021-2026 · Tableaux FSS, RQAP et assurance-emploi, colonne 2026Effective 2026-01-01 · checked 2026-09-07
Quebec Pension Plan second additional contribution (QPP2), employerRegime de rentes du Quebec, regime supplementaireNot costed
  • Computed by the formula set out in the cited authority

employment.work_location is required and material for ca.rule.qpp2-employer, and no approved assumption covers it.

Resolved once you tell the calculator: employment.work_location.

In force from 2026-01-01.

Needs one more fact
  • Retraite QuebecQuebec Pension Plan: contributions · Act respecting the Quebec Pension Plan, CQLR c R-9Effective 2026-01-01 · checked 2026-09-07
Québec health services fund contribution, payroll above the upper thresholdFonds des services de santé (FSS)Not costed
  • Employer rate 4.26%

employer.total_payroll is required and material for ca.rule.qc-fss-above-threshold, and no approved assumption covers it.

Resolved once you tell the calculator: employer.total_payroll.

In force from 2026-01-01.

Needs one more fact
  • Revenu QuébecContribution to the health services fund (FSS) · Act respecting the Régie de l'assurance maladie du Québec, CQLR c. R-5Effective 2026-01-01 · checked 2026-09-07
  • Groupe RDLTaux des déductions à la source pour les employés et les employeurs au Québec, 2021-2026 · Tableaux FSS, RQAP et assurance-emploi, colonne 2026Effective 2026-01-01 · checked 2026-09-07
Québec workforce skills development levyContribution au Fonds de développement et de reconnaissance des compétences de la main-d'œuvreNot costed
  • Owed only as the shortfall against the employer's own qualifying spending

employer.total_payroll is required and material for ca.rule.qc-skills-levy, and no approved assumption covers it.

Resolved once you tell the calculator: employer.total_payroll.

In force from 2026-01-01.

Needs one more fact
  • Revenu QuébecContribution related to labour standards and the workforce skills development levy (1%) · Act to promote workforce skills development and recognition, CQLR c. D-8.3Effective 2026-01-01 · checked 2026-09-07
Ontario employer health tax, above the exemptionNot costed
  • Employer rate 1.95%

employer.total_payroll is required and material for ca.rule.on-eht-above-the-exemption, and no approved assumption covers it.

Resolved once you tell the calculator: employer.total_payroll.

In force from 2026-01-01.

Needs one more fact
  • Ontario Ministry of FinanceEmployer Health Tax (EHT) · Employer Health Tax Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. E.11Effective 2026-01-01 · checked 2026-09-07
British Columbia employer health tax, above the notch bandNot costed
  • Employer rate 1.95%

employer.total_payroll is required and material for ca.rule.bc-eht-above-the-notch-band, and no approved assumption covers it.

Resolved once you tell the calculator: employer.total_payroll.

In force from 2026-01-01.

Needs one more fact
Manitoba health and post-secondary education levy, above the notch bandNot costed
  • Employer rate 2.15%

employer.total_payroll is required and material for ca.rule.mb-levy-above-the-notch-band, and no approved assumption covers it.

Resolved once you tell the calculator: employer.total_payroll.

In force from 2026-01-01.

Needs one more fact
  • Manitoba FinanceHealth and Post Secondary Education Tax Levy · The Health and Post Secondary Education Tax Levy Act, C.C.S.M. c. H24Effective 2026-01-01 · checked 2026-09-07
Newfoundland and Labrador health and post-secondary education tax, above the exemptionNot costed
  • Employer rate 2%

employer.total_payroll is required and material for ca.rule.nl-hapset-above-the-exemption, and no approved assumption covers it.

Resolved once you tell the calculator: employer.total_payroll.

In force from 2026-01-01.

Needs one more fact
Workers' compensation premium (Ontario WSIB)Not costed
  • Rated per employer by the insurer or compensation board, so no universal rate exists

employment.work_location is required and material for ca.rule.workers-compensation-on, and no approved assumption covers it.

Resolved once you tell the calculator: employment.work_location.

In force from 2026-01-01.

Needs one more fact
Workers' compensation premium (provincial or territorial board)Not costed
  • Rated per employer by the insurer or compensation board, so no universal rate exists

employment.work_location is required and material for ca.rule.workers-compensation-other, and no approved assumption covers it.

Resolved once you tell the calculator: employment.work_location.

In force from 2026-01-01.

Needs one more fact
Work-injury insurance premium (Québec CNESST)Not costed
  • Rated per employer by the insurer or compensation board, so no universal rate exists

employment.work_location is required and material for ca.rule.workers-compensation-qc, and no approved assumption covers it.

Resolved once you tell the calculator: employment.work_location.

In force from 2026-01-01.

Needs one more fact

Assumptions used

  • ca.assume.province-unknown

Charges not included in the figures above

  • Employment Insurance, employer premium at the reduced Québec rate: employment.work_location is required and material for ca.rule.ei-employer-qc, and no approved assumption covers it.
  • Québec Pension Plan, employer contribution: employment.work_location is required and material for ca.rule.qpp-employer, and no approved assumption covers it.
  • Québec parental insurance plan, employer premium: employment.work_location is required and material for ca.rule.qpip-employer, and no approved assumption covers it.
  • Quebec Pension Plan second additional contribution (QPP2), employer: employment.work_location is required and material for ca.rule.qpp2-employer, and no approved assumption covers it.
  • Québec health services fund contribution, payroll above the upper threshold: employer.total_payroll is required and material for ca.rule.qc-fss-above-threshold, and no approved assumption covers it.
  • Québec workforce skills development levy: employer.total_payroll is required and material for ca.rule.qc-skills-levy, and no approved assumption covers it.
  • Ontario employer health tax, above the exemption: employer.total_payroll is required and material for ca.rule.on-eht-above-the-exemption, and no approved assumption covers it.
  • British Columbia employer health tax, above the notch band: employer.total_payroll is required and material for ca.rule.bc-eht-above-the-notch-band, and no approved assumption covers it.
  • Manitoba health and post-secondary education levy, above the notch band: employer.total_payroll is required and material for ca.rule.mb-levy-above-the-notch-band, and no approved assumption covers it.
  • Newfoundland and Labrador health and post-secondary education tax, above the exemption: employer.total_payroll is required and material for ca.rule.nl-hapset-above-the-exemption, and no approved assumption covers it.
  • Workers' compensation premium (Ontario WSIB): employment.work_location is required and material for ca.rule.workers-compensation-on, and no approved assumption covers it.
  • Workers' compensation premium (provincial or territorial board): employment.work_location is required and material for ca.rule.workers-compensation-other, and no approved assumption covers it.
  • Work-injury insurance premium (Québec CNESST): employment.work_location is required and material for ca.rule.workers-compensation-qc, and no approved assumption covers it.

Rules 0.1.0-stat-0b1 · values 0.1.0-stat-0b1 · evidence 0.1.0-stat-0b1. Compiled from the published sources above; not an independent payroll or tax review.

Sources and methodology

Effective dates, verification dates, authorities and assumptions behind every figure above.

Statutory sources for Canada

Each authority below supports a specific part of the employer-cost calculation on this page.

Statutory sources supporting employer-cost components in Canada
Source authorityComponent supportedEffectiveLast verifiedState
Canada Revenue Agency, CPP contribution rates and maximumsCanada Pension Plan (base and enhanced)2026-01-012026-09-07Verified
Canada Revenue Agency, second additional CPP contribution ratesSecond additional CPP contribution (CPP2)2026-01-012026-09-07Verified
Canada Employment Insurance Commission, 2026 premium rateEmployment Insurance (employer premium, outside Quebec)2026-01-012026-09-07Verified
Ontario Ministry of Finance, Employer Health TaxProvincial employer health and payroll taxes2026-01-012026-09-07Not quantifiable
Association of Workers' Compensation Boards of CanadaWorkers' compensation premiums2026-01-012026-09-07Not quantifiable

Cost FAQ · Canada

For a C$83,148 CAD hire, the monthly cost of employing through an EOR (gross pay, employer contributions, the platform fee and amortised one-time fees) runs from about C$7,586 on the lowest-cost provider on the known subtotal to C$8,279 on the highest. The platform fee is a small slice of that; the bulk is salary plus the roughly 5.5% statutory employer burden. Currency conversion is excluded rather than estimated; where a provider publishes FX terms we state them on that provider's own facts instead of folding them into a total. This is a known subtotal for Canada, not a complete employer cost: at least one employer charge is not quantified here, and nothing has been assumed in its place.

For the C$83,148 profile above, RemoFirst is the lowest-cost provider in Canada on the known statutory subtotal. Because at least one employer charge in Canada is not quantified here, that is a comparison of provider charges rather than a complete verified cost. The ordering can also change at a different salary, so re-run the calculator at the band you are actually hiring in.

Three reasons. (1) Statutory employer contributions in Canada add about 5.5% on top of cash salary, paid into social security, pension, healthcare and any payroll levies. (2) The EOR adds a flat per-employee monthly fee, roughly $199–$699 across the providers we compare. (3) Deposits, typically one to two months of cost, tie up working capital until offboarding.

No. The platform fee covers legal employment, payroll processing, statutory filings, and benefits administration. The ~5.5% employer-side contributions are passed through at cost; you pay them in addition to the platform fee. Treat the sticker fee as a service line and the contributions as a tax line.

Once you're committed to 10–20+ headcount in Canada, an own-entity setup can beat EOR economics despite roughly $15k–$40k setup and $10k–$25k/year compliance (varies widely by jurisdiction; verify with local counsel). Below that, the EOR fee is far cheaper than carrying a legal entity. Use the EOR-vs-entity calculator to pinpoint your break-even.

Related

Other Americas hiring markets we model

Same canonical region as Canada, ranked by hiring volume and comparable employer contribution levels.

Provider metadata (FX spread, deposit, entity ownership) and statutory tax brackets are sourced from public materials and official government publications. Provider pricing last re-verified 4 September 2026; statutory data and exchange rates last reviewed 28 August 2026. No EOR publishes an exchange-rate markup, so from the September 2026 review no FX markup is applied to any total or ranking: provider costs are stated before any currency-conversion cost. Confirm conversion terms in writing with the provider before signing.