Skip to main content
Portugal · EOR cost

Employer of Record Cost in Portugal

Known monthly cost of hiring through an EOR in Portugal, compared across 4 platforms with verified coverage there and statutory contributions included; unpublished currency-conversion costs are excluded, not estimated. At least one employer charge is not quantified here, so this is a subtotal, not a complete cost.

Portugal · TL;DR

For a €51,498 EUR hire in Portugal, the known monthly cost (excluding unpublished currency-conversion charges) ranges from €6,565 on RemoFirst (lowest provider cost on this subtotal) to €6,994 on the highest-cost platform. Employer-side statutory contributions add at least ~27.7% on top of cash salary, before Compulsory work accident insurance, which cannot be resolved without that information.

Use the calculator below to plug in your own salary, HQ currency, and shortlist.

Portugal employer cost at a glance

Employer statutory cost
~32.3% of annual base salary
Employer contributions
Employer social security contributions
Contribution ceiling
Unknown
Mandatory additional pay
Yes · Subsídio de férias (holiday allowance) · Subsídio de Natal (Christmas allowance)
Verified provider coverage
4 providers with verified availability
What this estimate includes
Every employer cost we model for this country
Evidence depth
Modelled at aggregate employer-contribution level
Statutory evidence last verified
2026-09-06

How this cost is calculated

Figures for Portugal are calculated charge by charge from the published statutory rules, each with its own rate, ceiling and source shown below. Last checked against source on 2026-09-06.

A final total is not yet known: this figure depends on information that has not been supplied. Answer the questions shown to get the exact statutory calculation. How to read these figures.

More information requiredA complete total for Portugal depends on information that has not been supplied (the employer's industry), so the totals below are a subtotal. Nothing has been assumed in its place.

Cost stack · Portugal · €51,498 annual base salary
Annual base salary€51,498
Statutory additional pay (annual)
  • Subsídio de férias (holiday allowance)
  • Subsídio de Natal (Christmas allowance)
Paid to the employee on top of base salary.
€8,583
Average monthly employment cashAnnual cash ÷ 12, not a regular payslip amount€5,007
Employer social security contributions (at least ~27.7%, monthly)
Why is this a subtotal?

A complete total for Portugal depends on information that has not been supplied (the employer's industry), so the totals below are a subtotal. Nothing has been assumed in its place. Nothing has been assumed in its place.

€1,387
EOR platform fee (RemoFirst)€171
Monthly subtotal, pending more information (lowest provider cost on this subtotal)€6,565

Lowest provider cost for Portugal, on the known subtotal

Providers are ordered on the same known statutory subtotal, so this compares provider charges only, not a complete employer cost for Portugal. It excludes currency-conversion cost, which is not estimated here. Re-run the calculator at your actual band.

  1. #1RemoFirst€6,565 / moPricing and review →
    View fees & terms for RemoFirst
    Provider fee
    $199/employee/month in Portugal (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
    Setup fee
    No setup fee (Verified published value)None
    Offboarding fee
    No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
    Minimum headcount
    None (Verified published value)
    Minimum term
    None (month-to-month) (Verified published value)
    Cancellation
    Could not verify (Could not verify)
    Deposit
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Currency conversion
    Uses a mid-market reference rate; markup not disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)Uses a mid-market reference rate; markup not disclosed. Rate fixed when the invoice is issued. Applies to payroll funding and invoice line items. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

    Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

  2. #2Pebl€6,736 / moPricing and review →
    View fees & terms for Pebl
    Provider fee
    $399/employee/month in Portugal (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
    Setup fee
    No setup fee (Verified published value)None
    Offboarding fee
    No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
    Minimum headcount
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Minimum term
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Cancellation
    Could not verify (Could not verify)
    Deposit
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Currency conversion
    FX terms not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)FX terms not publicly disclosed. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

    Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

  3. #3Oyster€6,994 / moPricing and review →
    View fees & terms for Oyster
    Provider fee
    $699/employee/month in Portugal (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
    Setup fee
    No setup fee (Verified published value)None
    Offboarding fee
    No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
    Minimum headcount
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Minimum term
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Cancellation
    30 days (Verified published value)
    Deposit
    Refundable deposit required; number of months not published (Verified published value)
    Currency conversion
    FX rate-fixing rule published; exact markup not disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)FX rate-fixing rule published; exact markup not disclosed. Rate fixed at the close of the previous month. Conversion is trued up at reconciliation after payroll runs. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

    Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

Not ranked in Portugal: Rippling EOR, Papaya Global, Shor. Coverage not sufficiently verified for ranking. This is not a statement that the service is unavailable there.

Costs to budget for beyond this estimate in Portugal

  • Just-cause dismissal is hard to prove, collective dismissal and abolishment of post are the main legal routes.
  • Fixed-term contracts are restricted and convert to permanent after 2 years or 3 renewals.
  • Digital Nomad Visa hires still owe Portuguese Social Security if employed by a Portuguese entity / EOR.

Hiring inputs

We'll bill your final monthly total in USD ($).

Popular destinations for United States employers: Mexico, Colombia, Philippines.

Enter the annualised base salary in USD ($), not the employee's local currency, and before statutory additional payments. EOR Lens adds mandatory additional pay separately where applicable.

Amount in USD
Annual employee cash
$93,333USD
~€80,108 EUR
Base $80,000 + statutory additional pay
Statutory additional pay
$13,333USD
~€11,444 EUR
Subsídio de férias (holiday allowance) · Subsídio de Natal (Christmas allowance)
Employer social security contributions
$25,861USD
~€22,197 EUR
27.7% effective on this salary
Total annual employer cost
$119,194USD
~€102,305 EUR
Employee cash, employer contributions and statutory employer funds

Portugal: Subsídio de férias (holiday allowance) and Subsídio de Natal (Christmas allowance) are paid to the employee on top of the annual base salary you entered.

A final total is not yet known: this figure depends on information that has not been supplied. Answer the questions shown to get the exact statutory calculation. How to read these figures.

Estimate, not a binding quote·2026 statutory employer rates·FX fallback 2026-08-28

Includes: base salary, statutory employer taxes & social contributions, mandatory 13th/14th-month pay where applicable. Excludes: bonuses, equity, private health top-ups, pension uplifts, severance accrual, and one-off compliance fees. Verify against a binding provider quote before signing a contract.

Estimated upfront capital
Modelled security deposit of 1 month of total cost, refundable where the provider holds one. Actual provider terms vary and some ask for none.
$10,132USD
Optimise for compliance, not platform price

Platform fee is under 5% of employment cost, differences between providers are noise. Pick on entity ownership, audit posture, and country-specific expertise instead.

Compare EOR platforms

Hiring in Portugal · billed to United States in USD.

Top match for Portugal

RemoFirst

EOR Lens offer · 1 month free

Platform fee, contract terms and offboarding cost were the active differentiators.

Visit RemoFirst

Paid link · EOR Lens may earn a fee if you sign up through this link.

Save or share this result

Not ranked in Portugal: Rippling EOR, Papaya Global, Shor. Coverage not sufficiently verified for ranking. We only rank a provider where its own published sources, documentation or a direct confirmation establish that it offers an Employer of Record service in that country. This is not a statement that the service is unavailable.

EOR Platform
Lowest provider cost so far
RemoFirstRemoFirst
Partner network
month-to-month
FX: markup not disclosed
View fees & terms for RemoFirst
Provider fee
$199/employee/month in Portugal (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
Setup fee
No setup fee (Verified published value)None
Offboarding fee
No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
Minimum headcount
None (Verified published value)
Minimum term
None (month-to-month) (Verified published value)
Cancellation
Could not verify (Could not verify)
Deposit
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Currency conversion
Uses a mid-market reference rate; markup not disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)Uses a mid-market reference rate; markup not disclosed. Rate fixed when the invoice is issued. Applies to payroll funding and invoice line items. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

Platform fee
$199 USD/mo · $199 USD
Total monthly spend
$10,132USD
Employee cost ÷ 12 + platform fee, in USD
Refundable deposit (1 mo) (EOR Lens assumption)$10,132 USD
Deploy with RemoFirst

Paid link · EOR Lens may earn a fee if you sign up through this link.

EOR Lens offer: 1 month free

$199/employee/month, and RemoFirst states no setup, onboarding or termination fees, no annual contract and no minimums (remofirst.com/price, verified 4 Sep 2026). It publishes no security-deposit requirement; the one month modelled here is our assumption, so confirm it in your quote.· verified 2026-09-04

EOR Platform
PeblPebl
Mixed entities
12-month
FX: markup not disclosed
View fees & terms for Pebl
Provider fee
$399/employee/month in Portugal (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
Setup fee
No setup fee (Verified published value)None
Offboarding fee
No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
Minimum headcount
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Minimum term
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Cancellation
Could not verify (Could not verify)
Deposit
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Currency conversion
FX terms not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)FX terms not publicly disclosed. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

Platform fee
$399 USD/mo · $399 USD
Total monthly spend
$10,332USD
Employee cost ÷ 12 + platform fee, in USD
Refundable deposit (1 mo)$10,332 USD
Deploy with Pebl

$399/employee/month published on hellopebl.com/eor-pricing (verified 4 Sep 2026). Pebl's own FAQ states it charges no setup or offboarding fees, so the old Velocity Global $750 offboarding fee has been removed. Pebl no longer publishes deposit or minimum-term details. The former 1.5-month deposit came from pre-rebrand Velocity Global material and has been withdrawn, so deposit terms are shown as not published and must be confirmed in your quote.· verified 2026-09-04

EOR Platform
OysterOyster
Partner network
month-to-month
FX: markup not disclosed
View fees & terms for Oyster
Provider fee
$699/employee/month in Portugal (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
Setup fee
No setup fee (Verified published value)None
Offboarding fee
No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
Minimum headcount
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Minimum term
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Cancellation
30 days (Verified published value)
Deposit
Refundable deposit required; number of months not published (Verified published value)
Currency conversion
FX rate-fixing rule published; exact markup not disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)FX rate-fixing rule published; exact markup not disclosed. Rate fixed at the close of the previous month. Conversion is trued up at reconciliation after payroll runs. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

Platform fee
$699 USD/mo · $699 USD
Total monthly spend
$10,632USD
Employee cost ÷ 12 + platform fee, in USD
Refundable deposit (1 mo)$10,632 USD
Deploy with Oyster

$699/employee/month confirmed on oysterhr.com/pricing (4 Sep 2026). Oyster charges no setup, onboarding or offboarding fees, but does require a refundable deposit to start an engagement; it does not publish how many months, so one month is modelled here.· verified 2026-09-04

EOR Platform
RemoteRemote
Owned entity
month-to-month
FX: markup not disclosed
View fees & terms for Remote
Provider fee
$699/employee/month in Portugal (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
Setup fee
No setup fee (Verified published value)None
Offboarding fee
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Minimum headcount
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Minimum term
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Cancellation
Could not verify (Could not verify)
Deposit
No deposit (Verified published value)No standard deposit; reserve payments only in rare high-risk cases
Currency conversion
Uses a proprietary or forward FX rate; exact markup not disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)Uses a proprietary or forward FX rate; exact markup not disclosed. Rate fixed when payroll is processed. Applies to payroll funding and invoice line items. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

Platform fee
$699 USD/mo · $699 USD
Total monthly spend
$10,632USD
Employee cost ÷ 12 + platform fee, in USD
Refundable deposit (0 mo)$0 USD
Deploy with Remote

Paid link · EOR Lens may earn a fee if you sign up through this link.

$699/employee/month on remote.com/pricing (verified 4 Sep 2026), with no platform, onboarding or setup fees and no standard deposit; Remote says reserve payments apply only in rare high-risk cases.· verified 2026-09-04

Totals cover verified provider charges only. Currency-conversion cost is excluded rather than guessed: almost no EOR provider publishes an exchange-rate markup, and where one does we state it on that provider's own profile instead of folding it into a total. Your invoice may differ where conversion is required.

Comparison totals exclude customer-specific transaction taxes such as VAT, GST or withholding.

Mid-market FX from bundled fallback (2026-08-28) · currency-conversion cost is not estimated here, so none is applied to the platform fee; where a provider publishes FX terms they appear in that provider’s fees and terms. Bundled fallback rates

Transaction taxes & conditional costs

No universal EOR tax is added to this estimate. Customer-side VAT, GST, withholding and similar transaction taxes depend on your business location, your tax status and the provider's invoicing entity, so they are shown as treatment rather than added as an amount.

United States: No federal VAT or GST treatment depends on your tax status and the provider's invoicing entity.

Treatment depends on subnational rules or on how the specific provider's service is classified, so no country-level figure can be stated. No transaction-tax amount is included in the figures shown.

  • There is no input credit. Where sales or use tax applies it is a final cost, not recoverable.
  • Employment-service definitions turn on supervision and control tests (Seaton Corp. v. Testa, Ohio).
  • Whether an EOR fee is a taxable employment service or a non-taxable administrative service is provider and contract specific.
  • Treatment is decided below national level, so EOR Lens does not state a national figure.

Conditional costs such as immigration, visa or government filing fees and required local benefits are excluded unless specifically modelled.

Potential termination liability, such as statutory severance or notice pay, is an event-driven cost. It is never part of the annual employer cost, the provider ranking, Lowest verified cost or Top Match.

Learn how transaction tax is treated

Sources: Temporary staffing services now subject to sales tax, Washington DOR · Ruling 2018-2, Sales and Use Taxes, Personnel Services, Connecticut DRS · Seaton Corp. v. Testa, 2018-Ohio-4911, Supreme Court of Ohio · reviewed 2026-09-06

What makes up the 27.7% employer add-on in Portugal

Each employer-side contribution behind the rate used in the calculator above. Last reviewed 2026-06-22.

ContributionEmployer rateNotes
Social Security (TSU)23.75%Flat employer rate; covers pension, unemployment, sickness, family
Work accident insurance~1.0%Mandatory via private insurer; rate by occupation
Fundo de Compensação (FCT/FGCT)1.0%Termination compensation fund for contracts after Oct 2013

Exit cost to budget for: 15–75 days depending on tenure; longer for executives. 12 days per year of service for post-2013 contracts; older contracts have legacy formulas.

Employer statutory components in Portugal

Each charge behind the figures above, computed on an annual base salary of €51,498 EUR at 2026-09-07, with the rate, base, ceiling and authority that produce it.

Employer statutory components, amounts, calculation rules and sources for Portugal
ComponentAnnual amountHow it is calculatedStateSource
Social security, employer shareTaxa contributiva a cargo da entidade empregadora€14,269
  • Employer rate 23.75%

In force from 2011-01-01.

Calculated
Christmas subsidySubsídio de Natal€4,292
  • Fixed amount 1 months of pay

In force from 2009-02-17.

Counted in pay, not contributions
  • Assembleia da RepúblicaCódigo do Trabalho · Lei 7/2009, artigos 263.º e 264.ºEffective 2009-02-17 · checked 2026-09-07
Holiday subsidySubsídio de férias€4,292
  • Fixed amount 1 months of pay

In force from 2009-02-17.

Counted in pay, not contributions
  • Assembleia da RepúblicaCódigo do Trabalho · Lei 7/2009, artigos 263.º e 264.ºEffective 2009-02-17 · checked 2026-09-07
Compulsory work accident insuranceSeguro de acidentes de trabalhoNot costedSet out in the cited authority.

employer.industry is required and material for pt.rule.acidentes-trabalho, and no approved assumption covers it.

Resolved once you tell the calculator: employer.industry.

In force from 2010-01-01.

Needs one more fact
Labour compensation fund (FGCT), suspendedFGCT (entregas suspensas)€0
  • Employer rate 0%

In force from 2024-01-01.

Calculated
  • Fundos de Compensacao do Trabalho / Governo de PortugalDecreto-Lei n.º 115/2023, de 15 de dezembro, e FAQ oficial dos Fundos de Compensacao · Decreto-Lei n.º 115/2023, terceira alteracao a Lei 70/2013Effective 2024-01-01 · checked 2026-09-07
  • Diario da Republica / Assembleia da RepublicaDecreto-Lei n.º 115/2023, de 15 de dezembro, artigo 4.º (Extincao e suspensao de obrigacoes) · Decreto-Lei n.º 115/2023, artigo 4.º, alineas a) e b); Lei 70/2013, artigo 12.º, n.º 2Effective 2024-01-01 · checked 2026-09-09
  • Fundos de Compensação do TrabalhoFundo de Compensação do Trabalho e Fundo de Garantia de Compensação do TrabalhoEffective 2013-10-01 · checked 2026-09-07

Charges not included in the figures above

  • Compulsory work accident insurance: employer.industry is required and material for pt.rule.acidentes-trabalho, and no approved assumption covers it.

Rules 0.1.0-stat-0b1 · values 0.1.0-stat-0b1 · evidence 0.1.0-stat-0b1. Compiled from the published sources above; not an independent payroll or tax review.

Sources and methodology

Effective dates, verification dates, authorities and assumptions behind every figure above.

Statutory sources for Portugal

Each authority below supports a specific part of the employer-cost calculation on this page.

Statutory sources supporting employer-cost components in Portugal
Source authorityComponent supportedEffectiveLast verifiedState
Subsídio de férias (holiday allowance)Mandatory additional pay2026-09-062026-09-06Verified
Subsídio de Natal (Christmas allowance)Mandatory additional pay2026-09-062026-09-06Verified

Cost FAQ · Portugal

For a €51,498 EUR hire, the monthly cost of employing through an EOR (gross pay, employer contributions, the platform fee and amortised one-time fees) runs from about €6,565 on the lowest-cost provider on the known subtotal to €6,994 on the highest. The platform fee is a small slice of that; the bulk is salary plus the roughly 27.7% statutory employer burden. Currency conversion is excluded rather than estimated; where a provider publishes FX terms we state them on that provider's own facts instead of folding them into a total. Subsídio de férias (holiday allowance) and Subsídio de Natal (Christmas allowance) are statutory additional pay, added to the annual base salary before contributions. This is a known subtotal for Portugal, not a complete employer cost: at least one employer charge is not quantified here, and nothing has been assumed in its place.

For the €51,498 profile above, RemoFirst is the lowest-cost provider in Portugal on the known statutory subtotal. Because at least one employer charge in Portugal is not quantified here, that is a comparison of provider charges rather than a complete verified cost. The ordering can also change at a different salary, so re-run the calculator at the band you are actually hiring in.

Three reasons. (1) Statutory employer contributions in Portugal add about 27.7% on top of cash salary, paid into social security, pension, healthcare and any payroll levies. (2) The EOR adds a flat per-employee monthly fee, roughly $199–$699 across the providers we compare. (3) Statutory additional pay (Subsídio de férias (holiday allowance), Subsídio de Natal (Christmas allowance)) raises the annual cash base above the base salary you entered.

No. The platform fee covers legal employment, payroll processing, statutory filings, and benefits administration. The ~27.7% employer-side contributions are passed through at cost; you pay them in addition to the platform fee. Treat the sticker fee as a service line and the contributions as a tax line.

Once you're committed to 10–20+ headcount in Portugal, an own-entity setup can beat EOR economics despite roughly $15k–$40k setup and $10k–$25k/year compliance (varies widely by jurisdiction; verify with local counsel). Below that, the EOR fee is far cheaper than carrying a legal entity. Use the EOR-vs-entity calculator to pinpoint your break-even.

Related

Other European hiring markets we model

Same canonical region as Portugal, ranked by hiring volume and comparable employer contribution levels.

Provider metadata (FX spread, deposit, entity ownership) and statutory tax brackets are sourced from public materials and official government publications. Provider pricing last re-verified 4 September 2026; statutory data and exchange rates last reviewed 28 August 2026. No EOR publishes an exchange-rate markup, so from the September 2026 review no FX markup is applied to any total or ranking: provider costs are stated before any currency-conversion cost. Confirm conversion terms in writing with the provider before signing.