Skip to main content
Australia · EOR cost

Employer of Record Cost in Australia

Known monthly cost of hiring through an EOR in Australia, compared across 4 platforms with verified coverage there and statutory contributions included; unpublished currency-conversion costs are excluded, not estimated. At least one employer charge is not quantified here, so this is a subtotal, not a complete cost.

Australia · TL;DR

For a A$83,424 AUD hire in Australia, the known monthly cost (excluding unpublished currency-conversion charges) ranges from A$8,063 on RemoFirst (lowest provider cost on this subtotal) to A$8,758 on the highest-cost platform. Employer-side statutory contributions add at least ~12.0% on top of cash salary, before State payroll tax, New South Wales, which cannot be resolved without that information.

Use the calculator below to plug in your own salary, HQ currency, and shortlist.

Australia employer cost at a glance

Employer statutory cost
Up to ~12.0% of annual base salary
Employer contributions
Superannuation guarantee
Contribution ceiling
Applies
Mandatory additional pay
Unknown
Verified provider coverage
4 providers with verified availability
What this estimate includes
Every employer cost we model for this country
Evidence depth
Modelled at aggregate employer-contribution level
Statutory evidence last verified
Not recorded

How this cost is calculated

Figures for Australia are calculated charge by charge from the published statutory rules, each with its own rate, ceiling and source shown below.

A final total is not yet known: this figure depends on information that has not been supplied. Answer the questions shown to get the exact statutory calculation. How to read these figures.

More information requiredA complete total for Australia depends on information that has not been supplied (the employer's total annual wage bill), so the totals below are a subtotal. Nothing has been assumed in its place.

Cost stack · Australia · A$83,424 annual base salary
Annual base salaryA$83,424
Average monthly employment cashAnnual cash ÷ 12A$6,952
Superannuation guarantee (at least ~12.0%, monthly)
Why is this a subtotal?

A complete total for Australia depends on information that has not been supplied (the employer's total annual wage bill), so the totals below are a subtotal. Nothing has been assumed in its place. Nothing has been assumed in its place.

A$834
EOR platform fee (RemoFirst)A$277
Monthly subtotal, pending more information (lowest provider cost on this subtotal)A$8,063

Lowest provider cost for Australia, on the known subtotal

Providers are ordered on the same known statutory subtotal, so this compares provider charges only, not a complete employer cost for Australia. It excludes currency-conversion cost, which is not estimated here. Re-run the calculator at your actual band.

  1. #1RemoFirstA$8,063 / moPricing and review →
    View fees & terms for RemoFirst
    Provider fee
    $199/employee/month in Australia (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
    Setup fee
    No setup fee (Verified published value)None
    Offboarding fee
    No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
    Minimum headcount
    None (Verified published value)
    Minimum term
    None (month-to-month) (Verified published value)
    Cancellation
    Could not verify (Could not verify)
    Deposit
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Currency conversion
    Uses a mid-market reference rate; markup not disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)Uses a mid-market reference rate; markup not disclosed. Rate fixed when the invoice is issued. Applies to payroll funding and invoice line items. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

    Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

  2. #2PeblA$8,341 / moPricing and review →
    View fees & terms for Pebl
    Provider fee
    $399/employee/month in Australia (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
    Setup fee
    No setup fee (Verified published value)None
    Offboarding fee
    No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
    Minimum headcount
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Minimum term
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Cancellation
    Could not verify (Could not verify)
    Deposit
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Currency conversion
    FX terms not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)FX terms not publicly disclosed. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

    Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

  3. #3OysterA$8,758 / moPricing and review →
    View fees & terms for Oyster
    Provider fee
    $699/employee/month in Australia (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
    Setup fee
    No setup fee (Verified published value)None
    Offboarding fee
    No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
    Minimum headcount
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Minimum term
    Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
    Cancellation
    30 days (Verified published value)
    Deposit
    Refundable deposit required; number of months not published (Verified published value)
    Currency conversion
    FX rate-fixing rule published; exact markup not disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)FX rate-fixing rule published; exact markup not disclosed. Rate fixed at the close of the previous month. Conversion is trued up at reconciliation after payroll runs. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

    Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

Not ranked in Australia: Rippling EOR, Papaya Global, Shor. Coverage not sufficiently verified for ranking. This is not a statement that the service is unavailable there.

Costs to budget for beyond this estimate in Australia

  • Superannuation must be paid quarterly into the employee's chosen fund; failure triggers Superannuation Guarantee Charge (SGC), the 12% plus interest plus a $20 admin fee per employee. Penalties scale rapidly.
  • Unfair dismissal: after 6 months (or 12 for small employers), employees can challenge termination at the Fair Work Commission. Compensation cap is 26 weeks' salary, but reputational risk and legal costs are significant.
  • Modern Awards, most industries have a binding Modern Award setting minimum wages, allowances, penalty rates (weekend/overtime), and classifications. Your EOR must apply the correct award; tech roles typically fall under Professional Employees Award 2020.
  • Casual vs permanent classification: post-2024 reforms make it easier for casuals to convert to permanent after 6 months of regular hours. Genuine casuals get a 25% loading instead of leave entitlements.

Hiring inputs

We'll bill your final monthly total in USD ($).

Popular destinations for United States employers: Mexico, Colombia, Philippines.

Enter the annualised base salary in USD ($), not the employee's local currency, and before statutory additional payments. EOR Lens adds mandatory additional pay separately where applicable.

Amount in USD

Optional: a few details about Australia that change the cost

Some charges in Australia depend on facts only you know. Answer any of these and they are added to the figure. Leave them blank and they stay listed as not included.

Payroll taxes and disability-fund rates step at a wage-bill threshold, so this can change the rate rather than just the amount.

Annual base salary
$80,000USD
~A$111,232 AUD
What the employee earns before any statutory additional pay.
Superannuation guarantee
$9,600USD
~A$13,348 AUD
12.0% effective on this salary
Total annual employer cost
$89,600USD
~A$124,580 AUD
Employee cash, employer contributions and statutory employer funds

A final total is not yet known: this figure depends on information that has not been supplied. Answer the questions shown to get the exact statutory calculation. How to read these figures.

Estimate, not a binding quote·2026 statutory employer rates·FX fallback 2026-08-28

Includes: base salary, statutory employer taxes & social contributions, mandatory 13th/14th-month pay where applicable. Excludes: bonuses, equity, private health top-ups, pension uplifts, severance accrual, and one-off compliance fees. Verify against a binding provider quote before signing a contract.

Estimated upfront capital
Modelled security deposit of 1 month of total cost, refundable where the provider holds one. Actual provider terms vary and some ask for none.
$7,666USD
Optimise for compliance, not platform price

Platform fee is under 5% of employment cost, differences between providers are noise. Pick on entity ownership, audit posture, and country-specific expertise instead.

Compare EOR platforms

Hiring in Australia · billed to United States in USD.

Top match for Australia

RemoFirst

EOR Lens offer · 1 month free

Platform fee, contract terms and offboarding cost were the active differentiators.

Visit RemoFirst

Paid link · EOR Lens may earn a fee if you sign up through this link.

Save or share this result

Not ranked in Australia: Rippling EOR, Papaya Global, Shor. Coverage not sufficiently verified for ranking. We only rank a provider where its own published sources, documentation or a direct confirmation establish that it offers an Employer of Record service in that country. This is not a statement that the service is unavailable.

EOR Platform
Lowest provider cost so far
RemoFirstRemoFirst
Partner network
month-to-month
FX: markup not disclosed
View fees & terms for RemoFirst
Provider fee
$199/employee/month in Australia (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
Setup fee
No setup fee (Verified published value)None
Offboarding fee
No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
Minimum headcount
None (Verified published value)
Minimum term
None (month-to-month) (Verified published value)
Cancellation
Could not verify (Could not verify)
Deposit
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Currency conversion
Uses a mid-market reference rate; markup not disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)Uses a mid-market reference rate; markup not disclosed. Rate fixed when the invoice is issued. Applies to payroll funding and invoice line items. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

Platform fee
$199 USD/mo · $199 USD
Total monthly spend
$7,666USD
Employee cost ÷ 12 + platform fee, in USD
Refundable deposit (1 mo) (EOR Lens assumption)$7,666 USD
Deploy with RemoFirst

Paid link · EOR Lens may earn a fee if you sign up through this link.

EOR Lens offer: 1 month free

$199/employee/month, and RemoFirst states no setup, onboarding or termination fees, no annual contract and no minimums (remofirst.com/price, verified 4 Sep 2026). It publishes no security-deposit requirement; the one month modelled here is our assumption, so confirm it in your quote.· verified 2026-09-04

EOR Platform
PeblPebl
Owned entity
12-month
FX: markup not disclosed
View fees & terms for Pebl
Provider fee
$399/employee/month in Australia (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
Setup fee
No setup fee (Verified published value)None
Offboarding fee
No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
Minimum headcount
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Minimum term
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Cancellation
Could not verify (Could not verify)
Deposit
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Currency conversion
FX terms not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)FX terms not publicly disclosed. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

Platform fee
$399 USD/mo · $399 USD
Total monthly spend
$7,866USD
Employee cost ÷ 12 + platform fee, in USD
Refundable deposit (1 mo)$7,866 USD
Deploy with Pebl

$399/employee/month published on hellopebl.com/eor-pricing (verified 4 Sep 2026). Pebl's own FAQ states it charges no setup or offboarding fees, so the old Velocity Global $750 offboarding fee has been removed. Pebl no longer publishes deposit or minimum-term details. The former 1.5-month deposit came from pre-rebrand Velocity Global material and has been withdrawn, so deposit terms are shown as not published and must be confirmed in your quote.· verified 2026-09-04

EOR Platform
OysterOyster
Partner network
month-to-month
FX: markup not disclosed
View fees & terms for Oyster
Provider fee
$699/employee/month in Australia (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
Setup fee
No setup fee (Verified published value)None
Offboarding fee
No offboarding fee (Verified published value)None
Minimum headcount
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Minimum term
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Cancellation
30 days (Verified published value)
Deposit
Refundable deposit required; number of months not published (Verified published value)
Currency conversion
FX rate-fixing rule published; exact markup not disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)FX rate-fixing rule published; exact markup not disclosed. Rate fixed at the close of the previous month. Conversion is trued up at reconciliation after payroll runs. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

Platform fee
$699 USD/mo · $699 USD
Total monthly spend
$8,166USD
Employee cost ÷ 12 + platform fee, in USD
Refundable deposit (1 mo)$8,166 USD
Deploy with Oyster

$699/employee/month confirmed on oysterhr.com/pricing (4 Sep 2026). Oyster charges no setup, onboarding or offboarding fees, but does require a refundable deposit to start an engagement; it does not publish how many months, so one month is modelled here.· verified 2026-09-04

EOR Platform
RemoteRemote
Owned entity
month-to-month
FX: markup not disclosed
View fees & terms for Remote
Provider fee
$699/employee/month in Australia (Verified published value)Published as a single fixed fee for every country.
Setup fee
No setup fee (Verified published value)None
Offboarding fee
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Minimum headcount
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Minimum term
Not publicly disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)
Cancellation
Could not verify (Could not verify)
Deposit
No deposit (Verified published value)No standard deposit; reserve payments only in rare high-risk cases
Currency conversion
Uses a proprietary or forward FX rate; exact markup not disclosed (Not publicly disclosed)Uses a proprietary or forward FX rate; exact markup not disclosed. Rate fixed when payroll is processed. Applies to payroll funding and invoice line items. EOR Lens does not assume a figure where the provider publishes none.

Provider fees can vary by country, plan or billing term, so a provider-level starting price is not automatically the exact fee for this country. Information a provider does not publish is never treated as zero, free, no minimum or no deposit. These facts are shown for transparency: publishing more of them does not improve a provider's position in any ranking, and provider currency-conversion terms remain outside the totals.

Platform fee
$699 USD/mo · $699 USD
Total monthly spend
$8,166USD
Employee cost ÷ 12 + platform fee, in USD
Refundable deposit (0 mo)$0 USD
Deploy with Remote

Paid link · EOR Lens may earn a fee if you sign up through this link.

$699/employee/month on remote.com/pricing (verified 4 Sep 2026), with no platform, onboarding or setup fees and no standard deposit; Remote says reserve payments apply only in rare high-risk cases.· verified 2026-09-04

Totals cover verified provider charges only. Currency-conversion cost is excluded rather than guessed: almost no EOR provider publishes an exchange-rate markup, and where one does we state it on that provider's own profile instead of folding it into a total. Your invoice may differ where conversion is required.

Comparison totals exclude customer-specific transaction taxes such as VAT, GST or withholding.

Mid-market FX from bundled fallback (2026-08-28) · currency-conversion cost is not estimated here, so none is applied to the platform fee; where a provider publishes FX terms they appear in that provider’s fees and terms. Bundled fallback rates

Transaction taxes & conditional costs

No universal EOR tax is added to this estimate. Customer-side VAT, GST, withholding and similar transaction taxes depend on your business location, your tax status and the provider's invoicing entity, so they are shown as treatment rather than added as an amount.

United States: No federal VAT or GST treatment depends on your tax status and the provider's invoicing entity.

Treatment depends on subnational rules or on how the specific provider's service is classified, so no country-level figure can be stated. No transaction-tax amount is included in the figures shown.

  • There is no input credit. Where sales or use tax applies it is a final cost, not recoverable.
  • Employment-service definitions turn on supervision and control tests (Seaton Corp. v. Testa, Ohio).
  • Whether an EOR fee is a taxable employment service or a non-taxable administrative service is provider and contract specific.
  • Treatment is decided below national level, so EOR Lens does not state a national figure.

Conditional costs such as immigration, visa or government filing fees and required local benefits are excluded unless specifically modelled.

Potential termination liability, such as statutory severance or notice pay, is an event-driven cost. It is never part of the annual employer cost, the provider ranking, Lowest verified cost or Top Match.

Learn how transaction tax is treated

Sources: Temporary staffing services now subject to sales tax, Washington DOR · Ruling 2018-2, Sales and Use Taxes, Personnel Services, Connecticut DRS · Seaton Corp. v. Testa, 2018-Ohio-4911, Supreme Court of Ohio · reviewed 2026-09-06

What makes up the 12.0% employer add-on in Australia

Each employer-side contribution behind the rate used in the calculator above. Last reviewed 2026-06-22.

ContributionEmployer rateNotes
Superannuation Guarantee (Super)12.0%From 1 July 2025; paid on OTE up to Maximum Contribution Base (~$65,070/qtr 2024-25)
Payroll tax (state)4.75–6.85%Only above state thresholds: NSW $1.2M, VIC $900K, QLD $1.3M. Most EORs below threshold.
Workers' compensation insurance0.5–3%State-mandated, premium varies by industry and claims history

Exit cost to budget for: 1 week (<1 yr), 2 weeks (1–3 yrs), 3 weeks (3–5 yrs), 4 weeks (5+ yrs). Add 1 week if employee is over 45 with 2+ years' service. Redundancy pay (NES): 4 weeks (1–2 yrs) up to 16 weeks (9–10 yrs), capped at 12 weeks for 10+ years for non-small businesses. Small businesses (<15 employees) are exempt from redundancy pay obligations.

Employer statutory components in Australia

Each charge behind the figures above, computed on an annual base salary of A$83,424 AUD at 2026-09-07, with the rate, base, ceiling and authority that produce it.

Employer statutory components, amounts, calculation rules and sources for Australia
ComponentAnnual amountHow it is calculatedStateSource
Superannuation guaranteeA$10,011
  • Employer rate 12%
  • Capped at AUD 250,000 per year

In force from 2025-07-01.

Calculated
State payroll tax, New South WalesNot costed
  • Employer rate 5.45%
  • Charge has a threshold at AUD 1,200,000 per year

employer.total_payroll is required and material for au.rule.payroll-tax-nsw, and no approved assumption covers it.

Resolved once you tell the calculator: employer.total_payroll.

In force from 2025-07-01.

Needs one more fact

Charges not included in the figures above

  • State payroll tax, New South Wales: employer.total_payroll is required and material for au.rule.payroll-tax-nsw, and no approved assumption covers it.

Rules 0.1.0-stat-0b1 · values 0.1.0-stat-0b1 · evidence 0.1.0-stat-0b1. Compiled from the published sources above; not an independent payroll or tax review.

Sources and methodology

Effective dates, verification dates, authorities and assumptions behind every figure above.

Cost FAQ · Australia

For a A$83,424 AUD hire, the monthly cost of employing through an EOR (gross pay, employer contributions, the platform fee and amortised one-time fees) runs from about A$8,063 on the lowest-cost provider on the known subtotal to A$8,758 on the highest. The platform fee is a small slice of that; the bulk is salary plus the roughly 12.0% statutory employer burden. Currency conversion is excluded rather than estimated; where a provider publishes FX terms we state them on that provider's own facts instead of folding them into a total. This is a known subtotal for Australia, not a complete employer cost: at least one employer charge is not quantified here, and nothing has been assumed in its place.

For the A$83,424 profile above, RemoFirst is the lowest-cost provider in Australia on the known statutory subtotal. Because at least one employer charge in Australia is not quantified here, that is a comparison of provider charges rather than a complete verified cost. The ordering can also change at a different salary, so re-run the calculator at the band you are actually hiring in.

Three reasons. (1) Statutory employer contributions in Australia add about 12.0% on top of cash salary, paid into social security, pension, healthcare and any payroll levies. (2) The EOR adds a flat per-employee monthly fee, roughly $199–$699 across the providers we compare. (3) Deposits, typically one to two months of cost, tie up working capital until offboarding.

No. The platform fee covers legal employment, payroll processing, statutory filings, and benefits administration. The ~12.0% employer-side contributions are passed through at cost; you pay them in addition to the platform fee. Treat the sticker fee as a service line and the contributions as a tax line.

Once you're committed to 10–20+ headcount in Australia, an own-entity setup can beat EOR economics despite roughly $15k–$40k setup and $10k–$25k/year compliance (varies widely by jurisdiction; verify with local counsel). Below that, the EOR fee is far cheaper than carrying a legal entity. Use the EOR-vs-entity calculator to pinpoint your break-even.

Related

Other Asia-Pacific hiring markets we model

Same canonical region as Australia, ranked by hiring volume and comparable employer contribution levels.

Provider metadata (FX spread, deposit, entity ownership) and statutory tax brackets are sourced from public materials and official government publications. Provider pricing last re-verified 4 September 2026; statutory data and exchange rates last reviewed 28 August 2026. No EOR publishes an exchange-rate markup, so from the September 2026 review no FX markup is applied to any total or ranking: provider costs are stated before any currency-conversion cost. Confirm conversion terms in writing with the provider before signing.